[Nameplate] Fair ~ 40°F  
High: 46°F ~ Low: 44°F
Sunday, Dec. 4, 2016

Racing back after week off at WPMS

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

After a week off due to inclement weather last weekend, 78 anxious racers lined ready to compete during KKDY Race Night at West Plains Motor Speedway May 17. Fans enjoyed clear skies and mild temperatures so it proved to be the best race night so far in the 2008 season.

Winner of the IMCA Modified feature was Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat, and taking second place was Scott Crigler of Alton, followed by Carmon Vincent of Moody, Brandon Ball of West Plains, Jason Snodgrass of Mountain Home, Matt Barry of West Plains, Tony Anglin of Walnut Ridge, with Chris Piper, Brian Judd and Bill Adams, all of West Plains, rounding out the top ten.

Stan Ellison of West Plains won the Super Stock feature, while Derald Kelly of Birch Tree took second, followed by Bobby Bryant and Kevin Collins, both of West Plains, and Dee Kelly of Birch Tree.

Making a return appearance on Victory Lane after winning the Hobby Stock feature was Robert Williams of Van Buren. Runner-up was Dexter Frost of West Plains, followed by Rick Cooper of Thornfield, and Shane Hitt and Brock Frost, both of Birch Tree.

Last year's Youth Hobby Stock champion, Ben Piper, won again this week, followed by Dakota Frost who gave Piper quite a run for the win. They're both from West Plains. Cody Toten of Pomona, came in third, followed by Kyle Duke of West Plains and Kevin May of Pomona.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: