[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 60°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Municipal filing deadline expires

Thursday, August 12, 2004

Staff Writers

Several incumbent Izard County aldermen will face challengers in the Nov. 2 general election, while aldermen in Fulton County will not.

Izard County

In Horseshoe Bend, Ward 1 Position 1 incumbent Merlyn "Smiley" Lenhard will face off against challenger David Seibert Sr.

In Ward 3 position 1, recently appointed incumbent Ronald E. Dupler is being challenged by Willie Moser.

Horseshoe Bend City Council incumbents Daniel Glover, Barbara Bell, Erv Metzinger, George Florea, Steve Boyer, George Williamson and current Recorder/treasurer Sally Prohl are running unopposed.

Melbourne voters will have one contested alderman seat to decide. Ward 1 Position 2 incumbent Shane Linn will face challenger Shannon Womack in November.

Melbourne City Council incumbents Bill Wright, Wayne Langston, Micah Berger, Eric Teague and John Harguess will not be challenged in the upcoming election.

Alecia Bray is running unopposed for the Melbourne recorder/treasurer position. Bray will replace the outgoing Connie Wheeler.

The recorder/treasurer position will be contested in Franklin. Stevie Smith will square off against Darlene Foster for the position in the general election.

Rene Reeves, Boyd Martin and Scottie Wolford are running unopposed for the Franklin City Council.

In Oxford, Herbert A. Moss, Steven Stevenson, Glendon S. Everett, Lloyd Blevins, Billy G. Dockins, David Reinert and Russell Sherrell will run unopposed for the Oxford aldermen positions.

Incumbent Oxford Recorder/treasurer Bonnie Moss will not face a challenger in the election.

In Guion, Aldermen Randy Engles, Ida Mae Frazier, Shelby Upton, Larry Sellers, Kenny Moser and Recorder/treasurer Tammy Sellers will run unopposed.

Rhonda Guy will run unchallenged for the Pineville clerk/recorder position.

Fulton County

The Viola City Council will see one change next year. Calvin W. Crawford will replace the outgoing Terry Batterton for the Position 1 seat. Incumbent Aldermen Monty Majors, Garry Williams, James W. Collins and Dennis Harber will return, as will Mayor Lowell Estes and Recorder/treasurer Mike Beaver.

Jimmy Mills filed for Ward 1 Position 1 in Mammoth Spring. The seat is currently held by Jack Haney. Alderman incumbents Danny Busch, Lindy Greene, William M. Tibbits and Recorder/treasurer Joan Baker will run unchallenged.

The deadline for municipal filings was Aug. 9.

Sharp County

Former Ash Flat city officials and employees want a say in city business. They haven't asked for their positions back but they have filed for office.

Former mayor Gary "Pepper" Martin filed for recorder/treasurer against incumbent Charlotte Goodwin. Former police chief Rickey E. Crook filed for Ward 2 Position 2 on the city council and will challenge incumbent Marty Goodwin. Larry Fowler, who recently turned in his resignation as city road superintendent, filed for Ward 1 Position 2 against incumbent Alderman Carolyn Stewart. Former alderman Joe Cotham filed for Ward 3 Position 2 along with Cindy Asher. Cotham ran for reelection in the last election and was defeated by Scott Brewer.

In the Ward 2 Position 1 seat Aldermen Brewer and Darrell Carpenter are running for the same position. Brewer has held the position since his election while Carpenter served as aldermen of Ward 3 Position 1. A recent redistricting of city wards placed the two aldermen in the same ward.

Alderman Jerrell Lesley is the only incumbent without a challenger. In Ward 1 Position 1 Stacy L. Bratcher filed for election without opposition.

The filing for city offices officially ended at noon Aug. 4. Officials will be elected during the November election.

In Hardy, Recorder/treasurer Nina A. Thornton will face former alderman Carolyn Rae Groves in November.

In the Ward 1 Position 1 alderman race, incumbent Lloyd McEntire filed for office along with Amy Hussung. In Ward 2 Position 1 Ann Raheem, director of the Spring River Area of Commerce, filed against incumbent Chad Wiles. Ward 2 Position 2 Alderman Ralph DePriest is challenged by Robert Gilliland, former mayoral candidate. In the Ward 3 Position 2 race Betty Jo Halbach and James H. Foster both filed for the position Halbach's husband, Joe Halbach, currently holds.

Ward 1 Position 2 Alderman Bobby Higginbottom and Ward 3 Position 1 Alderman Raymond Hicks do not have opposition.

In Highland, Recor-der/treasurer Carol Frolow will face challenger Mary Wiles in the coming election.

Ward 1 Position 1 Alderman Denise A. Gibbons will be challenged by William "Bill" Rachal for her seat. In the Ward 1 Position 2 race Willis "Willie" Eversoll is challenging incumbent Clyde L. Fisher. Ward 2 Position 1 Alderman Bob Vance will need to defeat Mike Byron to serve another term. Ward 3 Position 2 Alderman Shawn A. Reed is challenged by Joyce Bettis. Ward 4 Position 1 Alderman Taryn Hill Duncan is challenged by Lawrence H. Allen. In Ward 4 Position 2 newcomers Jerome Norwood and Sam Brock both filed for office.

In Ward 2 Position 2 Ty Casey was the only resident to file. Ward 3 Position 1 Alderman David M. Harris filed for reelection without opposition.

In Cherokee Village, incumbent F.V. "Tom" Thompson and challenger Tom Henkels filed for the Ward 1 Position 1 alderman seat. In Ward 1 Position 2 Pam Lueder and Jan Torbit filed for election. In Ward 2 Position 2 Angela Petersen and Brent Watts filed. In Ward 4 Position 2 Peter R. Martin and Darrell Dean McWilliams filed for alderman. Ward 2 Position 1 Alderman Lewis Hagerman, Ward 3 Position 1 Alderman Russ Stokes, Ward 3 Position 2 Alderman Jim F. Fenton and Ward 4 Position 1 Alderman Scott M. Paul filed for reelection unopposed.

In Cave City, Recorder/treasurer Kathy Wooldridge is challenged by Andrea Smith.

In the Ward 3 Position 1 alderman race incumbent Cathy Johnson and Richard Hawkins II both filed. In Ward 4 Position 1 Carey Markum and incumbent Ralph Parsley filed for office. In Ward 4 Position 2 Dale King and incumbent John Ables filed. In Ward 1 Position 1 incumbent Ronald C. Burge filed. In Ward 1 Position 2 Billy Corter filed. In Ward 2 Position 1 Edward Turnbough filed. In Ward 2 Position 2 incumbent Jerry McCall filed. In Ward 3 Position 2 incumbent Paul Wayne Johnson filed.

There are no contested races in Evening Shade. The following filed for office: Recorder/treasurer -- Sandra McCall; Ward 1 Position 1 alderman -- Kimberly Graddy; Ward 1 Position 2 -- Annemarie W. Avey; Ward 2 Position 1 -- Sharon Kunke; Ward 2 Position 2 -- Patty Sample; Ward 3 Position 1 -- Jerry Brown; Ward 3 Position 2 -- Dwight Sharp

There are no contested races in Sidney. The following filed for office: Mayor -- Gwen A. Battles; Recor-der/treasurer -- Chrystal Turner; Position 1 alderman -- Justin David; Position 2 -- Morris Miller; Position 3 -- Michael Arnold; Position 4 -- George Carter; Position 5 -- Alex Moody

There are no contested races in Williford. The following filed for office: Recorder/treasurer -- Wilford Dudley; Position 1 alderman -- Jesse Elliott; Position 2 -- Louise Garside; Position 3 -- Linda Benson; Position 4 -- Leonard Wiles; Position 5 -- Jimmy D. Russell.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: