[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 67°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 55°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Brandon Smith tops in Show-Me Championship

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., may have started in seventh position for the 15th annual Dirt Works' sponsored Show-Me Championship, but he worked his way to the lead by lap 10, en route to the checkered flag Aug. 4 at West Plains Motor Speedway.

Only two cautions marred the 40-lap feature event, as drivers drove from top to bottom on the smooth 3/8 mile red clay circuit before a large crowd

Smith beat out 65 other drivers from five states who tried to qualify for the main event, and he picked up $6,500 for his efforts.

After Smith, the balance of the field was: Jesse Stovall, Jared Landers, Peyton Taylor, Jeff Taylor, Robby Arnold, Kevin Salter, Mike Bowers, Johnny Virden, Rusty Dukes, R.C. Whitewell, Robert Powell, Johnny Bone Jr., Mark Stephens, Marlin Shehorn, Shane Stephens, Scooter Scruggs, Shawn Walsh, Rustin Miller, Brandon Ball, Scott Crigler, Chris Piper, Chuck McGinty, Jeremy Conner and Brad Buck.

Round two of the qualifying for the feature event was completed on Aug. 3.

With temperatures soaring into the 90s during the day, fans and drivers were relieved when the sun set and temperatures moderated a bit that evening.

In the weekly points event for the Cruisers Aug. 3, Clifford Collins II, of West Plains won the feature.

John Stiner of West Plains finished second followed by Tyler Newcom of Hardy, Mark Doiron and Bill Harden, both of West Plains, Sissy Ratliff Seamans of Imboden, Rhonda Gunter of West Plains, Murrill Pace of Gainesville, and Clifford Collins of West Plains.

The 15th annual Dirt Works' sponsored Show-Me Championship for modifieds kicked off with round one of qualifying action on Aug. 2.

Weekly points races were held for the Hobby Stock class, and the feature winner was Chuck Russell of West Plains.

Dexter Frost of West Plains was second, followed by Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, Dean Smith of Mammoth Spring, Jessie Shearin of Blue Springs, Mo., Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Scott Todd of Hardy, Travis Burnett of Ava, Korey Whitelock of Alton, and Bobby Bryant of West Plains.

Winner of the Youth Hobby Stock feature was Austin White of Willow Springs, followed by Ben Piper and Kyle Duke, both of West Plains, and Cody Toten of Pomona.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: