[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Hay Foundation selects inductees into all

Thursday, June 3, 2004

MAMMOTH SPRING -- The George D. Hay Music Hall of Fame and Foundation of Mammoth Spring has chosen the 2004 George D. Hay Music Hall of Fame inductees. They are: Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash, Buck Owens, June Carter Cash, Cal Smith and Norma Jean. The George D. Hay Hoedown Award is given in honor of the local musicians who played for the hoedown that George D. Hay attended in 1919, inspiring him with the idea for the Grand Ole Opry. The award will be given to the following local musicians: Howard Helt and Pete Rose, both of Mammoth Spring; Charles "Chuck" Holley of Hardy; and Eric Lewis of West Plains. The induction and award show will be Sept. 19 at the Mammoth Spring Country Music Association building. More information will be given at a later date.

The George D. Hay Music Hall of Fame invites the community to jam sessions every Friday night starting at 7 p.m. All musicians and singers are invited to take part in these jam sessions. The theater is now open Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Everyone is invited to stop by and visit. Pickers who would like to jam at this time are welcome. Admission and jamming is free.

For more information call 417-264-7213.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: