[Nameplate] Fair ~ 78°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Speedway honors top drivers of 2003 season

Thursday, November 13, 2003

Don and Billie Gibson, owners of West Plains Motor Speedway, hosted their 11th annual Awards and Recognition Banquet recently at the Civic Center in West Plains.

The top 10 drivers in each of the tracks' six classes were honored with special trophies, sponsored by O'Reilly Auto Parts, along with additional prizes and gifts.

Tori Freeman, the track announcer, welcomed the group as a buffet selection was served by the Warm Fork Cafeteria. Awards presentations followed as Ms. Freeman introduced the drivers and Don Gibson extended congratulations while presenting trophies and awards.

Those receiving recognition, in order of points, in the IMCA Modified division were:

2003 Track Champion Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat, Billy Romans Jr. , Bill Adams and Kevin Collins, all of West Plains, Landon Clinton of Willow Springs, Carmon Vincent of Moody, Mike Mayfield, Bobby Bryant, Don Marsh and Trent Cockrum, all of West Plains.

Honored drivers in the Super Stock Class included 2003 Track Champion Stan Ellison of West Plains, Jesse Brotherton of Pomona, Bill Dixon of Thayer, Todd Kelly of Birch Tree, Robert Schweitzer of Montier, Dee Kelly, Derald Kelly and Cody Kelly, all of Birch Tree, Darren Fox of Vanzant and Andy Collins of West Plains.

Hobby Stock drivers receiving trophies and awards included the 2003 Track Champion Brad Gayer of Houston, Paula Ross of Flippin, Chuck Russell of West Plains, Tyson Troutman of Houston, Will Love of Cave City, Billy "Turk" Johns of Hardy, Dave Rust of Houston, Joey Smith of West Plains, Dave Wallace of Theodosia and Dexter Frost of Birch Tree.

In the Cruiser Class, the 2003 Track Champion is Jeff North of Rogersville, followed by Bill Johns of Hardy, Donald Collins of West Plains, Jason Philipp of Willow Springs, David Collins of West Plains, Kenny Lilly and Dale Chaney, both of Birch Tree, Michael Lewis Jr., Jerry Riley and Bill Harden, all of West Plains.

The Front Wheel Drive 2003 Track Champion is Patrick Reed of Birch Tree, followed by Russell Truitt of Hardy, Glenn Duke, Jerry Doane, Ricky Williams and Chris Johnson, all of West Plains, Jeff Hawkins of Mountain View, Robert Jamison of West Plains, Thelma Carter of Mountain Home and Troy McCauley of Houston.

The new Youth Hobby Stock 2003 Track Champion is Ben Ledgerwood of Birch Tree, followed by top drivers, Max Lilly of Birch Tree, Kyle Cotter of Mountain Home and Davey Chaney of Birch Tree.

Dennis Burton, WPMS technical inspector, noted slight changes in the rules and took questions from those in attendance.

Chuck Gibson, race director, highlighted the 2004 schedule and special events planned for the upcoming season. He noted the scheduled practice days, March 6 and 13, and the 5th Annual Dirtwork's Stanfill Memorial Modified Special is set for March 18-20.

The annual Wal-Mart Car Show is planned for March 27 prior to the last pre-season practice session.

The first points races of the season will be April 3. The same classes will be included in the racing program in 2004.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: