[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 36°F  
High: 50°F ~ Low: 50°F
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2017

Couch students receive leadership award

Thursday, June 2, 2005

COUCH " Kimberly Rae LaBahn, daughter of Karen Lhamon and the late Donald LaBahn, and Matthew Bryan Deckard, son of Russell and Cathy Deckard, of the Couch High School senior class have each been awarded the national I Dare You Leadership Award. High school principal Tom Bull said the award is given in recognition of personal integrity, balanced living and the potential for leadership. Bull presented the honor at the honors ceremony at the school earlier this month.

The I Dare You Leadership Award is made available each year by the American Youth Foundation in cooperation with high schools across the country. The award was first offered in 1941 by William H. Danforth, founder of Ralston Purina Company in St. Louis, who challenged young people to achieve their highest potential and to influence others through their lives of service. The award takes its name from the book, I Dare You!, written by Danforth, in which he commends the balanced life of mental, physical and spiritual development as the backbone of leadership.

Both students received the I Dare You Award, along with a scholarship opportunity to attend a National Leadership Conference, sponsored by the American Youth Foundation.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: