[Nameplate] A Few Clouds ~ 58°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Mayor seat changes hands in city of Koshkonong

Thursday, April 15, 2004

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- Results from the April 6 municipal and school board elections resulted in a new mayor being elected in the city of Koshkonong.

Doyle Langley defeated Tom Lowe, 76 votes to 30 votes. Langley and newly elected Ward I Alderman Geneva Bernard and Ward II Alderman Brian Willbanks were sworn in April 8 at the courthouse in Alton by Oregon County Clerk Gary Hensley.

Bernard received 23 votes to opponent Myrtle Rigel's 15 votes. Willbanks, received 44 votes, Norma Duncan, 16 votes and Rose Vandiver one vote for the Ward II alderman spot.

In the city of Alton, incumbent Richard Haigwood easily beat challenger Tammy Curtis for the mayor's seat, 133 to 29. Bob Martin won the North Ward alderman seat with 50 votes to Dinah Slaughter's 9.

Two positions were filled on the Alton School Board. Dennis Smith received 370 votes, Mike McElmurry, 360 votes, and Stacey Wiggs, 154 votes. Smith and McElmurry won the Alton School Board seats.

Two seats were filled April 6 on the Thayer School Board. Wendy Carhart and Jed Underwood won the Thayer school board seats. Carhart received 192 votes and Underwood received 232 votes. Other Thayer School Board candidates were Joe Henry with 181 votes; Bill Honeycutt, 119 votes; and Doyle Fink, 187 votes.

All the mayor and aldermen seats in the county are for two-year terms and the school board positions in the county are for three-year terms.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: