[Nameplate] Fair ~ 72°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 52°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Track champs crowned at WPMS

Thursday, October 7, 2004

TCI Automotive of Ashland, Miss., sponsored the season finale at West Plains Motor Speedway Oct. 2. Eighty-three drivers converged as the final feature events in each of the six weekly classes produced the 2004 Track Champions.

In the Modified division Rustin Miller of Houston, Mo., won the feature, but the Track Championship title went to Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat.

In the TCI-sponsored weekly event Marlin Shehorn of Russellville took second place followed by Bryan McKee of Mountain Home and Brandon Ball and Bill Adams, both of West Plains.

The balance of the feature field included Brian Judd, Don Marsh, Shawn Walsh, Troy Tredway, Fred Scarbrough, Lonnie Judd, Billy Romans, Jerry Croney, Clarence Story, Calvin Tribble, Jimmie Leonard, David Kirkland, John Mostrom, Kevin Collins, Scott Crigler and Marty Toten.

The top 10 in track points were Track Champion Shawn Walsh, followed by Bill Adams, Rustin Miller, Billy Romans, Kevin Collins, Kevin Salter, Carmon Vincent, Bryan McKee, Scott Crigler and Don Marsh.

Derald Kelly of Birch Tree, Mo., won the Super Stock weekly feature with Stan Ellison of West Plains taking second, followed by Todd Cook of Newburg, Mo., Joe Davenport of Summit and Bobby Ratterree of Mountain Grove.

The balance of the feature field were Todd Kelly, Dee Kelly, Tim Hancock, Tim Brown, Mike Blissenbach, Darren Fox and Bill Dixon.

Ranking as the top 10 in the Super Stock points were Track Champion Stan Ellison, followed by Dee Kelly, Bill Dixon, Todd Kelly, Darren Fox, Andy Collins, Derald Kelly, Bobby Ratterree, Jesse Brotherton and Dave Wallace.

Hobby Stock feature winner this week was Dave Wallace of Theodosia, followed by Dexter Frost of Birch Tree, Tyson Troutman of Houston, Mo., Ken Medley of Mountain Home and Toby Goodwin of Ash Flat.

The balance of the feature field were Chuck Russell, Kirk Hutchings, Joey Smith, Greg Lute, Bobby Bryant, who took quite a ride as his car flipped between turns 3 and 4, Donnie Miller, Dwight Reynolds, Rick Cooper, Willy Walker, James Mayfield, Bill Risly, Richard Grissum, Eddie Horn and Brian Ratliff.

Hobby Stock Track Champion for 2004 is Tyson Troutman, followed by Chuck Russell, Bobby Bryant, Greg Lute, Rick Cooper, Joey Smith, Kirk Hutchings, Donnie Miller, Dexter Frost and Toby Goodwin.

Jason Johnson of Hardy made a return appearance to Victory Lane in the Cruiser feature event with Jeff North of Willow Springs, Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, Bill Harden of West Plains and Mike Butler of Moody, Mo., rounding out the top five.

The balance of the field included: Donald Collins, Dale Chaney, Kevin Kelly, Michael Lewis, Bill Johns, Jerry Riley, David Collins and Chris Skinner.

Scoring top points in the Cruiser division was Track Champion Bill Johns, followed by Jeff North, Jason Johnson, Shane Hitt, Bill Harden, Donald Collins, Chris Skinner, Michael Lewis, Mike Butler and David Collins.

The Front Wheel Drive feature was won by Patrick Reed of Mountain View, Mo., followed by Brad Sanders of West Plains, Cliff Strait and David Lute, both of Ash Flat and Robert Jamison of West Plains.

The balance of the feature field were Bill Harden, Chris Johnson, Jerry Doane, Davey Chaney, and Dan Ruther.

Chris Johnson was declared Track Champion in the Front Wheel Drive division followed by Robert Jamison, Brad Sanders, Jerry Doane, Truman Poole, David Lute, Patrick Reed, Cliff Strait, Davey Chaney and Rodney Ely.

Winner of the weekly feature in the Youth Hobby Stock division was Chris Ratterree of Mountain Grove, Mo., followed by Ben Ledgerwood of Birch Tree, Travis Spencer of Houston, Mo., Nikita Curtner of West Plains and Eric Butler of Moody.

The balance of the field were Michael Tredway, Bobby Skinner and Ethan Horn.

With a near-perfect season, Ben Ledgerwood was declared the Track Champion in the Youth division, followed by Bobby Skinner, Eric Butler, Nikita Curtner, Chris Ratterree, Jimmy Jones, Travis Spencer, Michael Tredway, Ethan Horn and Landan Harris.

Plans are under way for the 12th annual Awards Night and Recognition Banquet. The date is set for Nov. 6. The West Plains Civic Center, Magnolia Room, will again be used for the event. Additional information will be announced as plans are finalized.

West Plains Motor Speedway has completed its full schedule of competition events for the 2004 season and is now officially closed for the season. All inquiries will need to be directed to the business office at P.O. Box 463, Ash Flat, AR 72513 or by phone to (870) 994-7447. The email address is wpms@centurytel.net.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: