[Nameplate] Fog ~ 55°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 52°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Areawide Media offers discount subscriptions

Thursday, July 10, 2003

This special saturation issue of The News is being sent to every household in Sharp County, as well as to regular subscribers in Fulton and Izard counties and outside the tri-county area. Areawide Media is offering a special discount subscription rate to new subscribers: $10 for six months.

Readers can order home delivery of The News with a credit card by calling 800-895-3209 or by sending a check for $10 along with a coupon from inside this issue to: Areawide Media, P.O. Box 248, Salem, AR 72576.

The News carries news and sports from throughout the tri-county area. It also includes special features including TV listings, crossword puzzles, stockyard report and local weather.

"Many of our Sharp County readers have family or business ties in Fulton and Izard counties," said Publisher Janie Flynn. "The News provides a way to keep up with both local and area news."

The News Family & Friends page includes births, graduations, weddings, anniversaries and reunions from not only the tri-county area in Arkansas, but Oregon County, Mo., as well. And The News also features community news reports from small towns throughout the tri counties.

The News is a publication of Areawide Media in Salem, with offices in Highland and Thayer, Mo. Areawide Media also publishes two other weekly newspapers, the Villager Journal (Quad Cities, Sharp County) and The South Missourian News (Oregon County), and three shoppers, the Sharp County Record, Izard-Fulton County Record and Oregon County Record.

Areawide Media is owned by Rust Communications. Headquartered in Cape Girardeau, Mo., Rust Communications is one of the fastest growing newspaper chains in the country, with more than 50 newspapers in seven states. Its flagship, the Southeast Missourian, was named the best small daily newspaper in the nation by the National Newspaper Association in 2002.

Other Rust Communications newspapers in Arkansas are located in Blytheville, Berryville, Eureka Springs, Manila, Osceola, Piggott, Rector and Trumann.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: