Need a bin? Free recycling bins now available

Thursday, March 4, 2004

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- Oregon County residents in need of new recycling bins may now pick them up at the Thayer City Hall, Oregon County Recycling Center or Alton City Hall.

According South Central Solid Waste Management District (SCSWMD) Director Linda Roehl, the bins are free and can be picked up with or without lids.

Roehl, who was in the county last week, said the bins are to be used for placing recyclables for pickup only.

She said clean recycling materials can be all be placed in one bin and they will be picked up at scheduled times. Materials picked up in Oregon County include:

#1 and #2 plastic, glass (green, brown and clear), paper, magazines, newsprint, junk mail, aluminum cans, lead-acid batteries, egg cartons and used oil.

The Oregon County recycling program has been in progress for more than a decade.

In the early 1990s the Missouri Legislature passed legislation that required all counties in the state to reduce solid waste in their counties by 40 percent. Counties were given a deadline of 1998 to implement a plan.

Oregon County was the first county in the state to submit such a plan and in 1994 received a grant from the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) for just under $100,000 to get their plan off the ground.

The first recycling center in the county was located on Front Street in Thayer with all communities in the county having pickup sites.

The program rapidly grew and in 2001 a Community Determent Grant (CBG) for $200,000 was applied for and received to build a new recycling center. The center was built in the Thayer Industrial Park.

The SCSWMD has gained recognition as one of the top recycling districts in the state. It serves a seven county area including: Oregon, Shannon, Howell, Texas, Wright, Ozark and Douglas Counties in southern Missouri.

The Oregon County Recycling Board is governed by Allen Deckard, Bob Grimes, representing Thayer; Leo Warren, John Wrenfrow, representing the county; Richard Haigwood and Dinah Slaughter, representing Alton; and Shiela Foulke and Dorothy Manaker as at-large members. Deckard serves as the chairman for the local board.

Deckard and Wrenfrow represent Oregon County on the seven-county Region P Solid Waste Board that makes decisions concerning solid waste in the area.

For more information on the local recycling program, contact Oregon County Recycling Center Director Dave Bennett at 417-264-7235 or Roehl at 417-932-5345.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: