[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 71°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Nominations sought for Grizzly Hall of Fame

Thursday, July 20, 2006

Nominations are being sought for the fifth class of student-athletes to be inducted into the Grizzly Hall of Fame at Missouri State University-West Plains.

Area residents have until Aug. 31 to submit names of past members of the Missouri State-West Plains Grizzly basketball and Lady Grizzly volleyball teams for induction into the hall.

"This is an important honor for our former players," Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chairman Ron Shemwell said. "We want to encourage everyone to nominate their favorite player from our list of eligible candidates who meets the criteria for selection."

To be eligible for the Grizzly Hall of Fame, student-athletes must have been out of the university for a minimum of five years. They must have exhibited personal integrity and character, leadership and academic success, and they must have represented themselves and Missouri State-West Plains with excellence. They also must have graduated from Missouri State-West Plains or transferred in good academic standing from Missouri State-West Plains and ultimately graduated from another accredited college or university. Coaches are eligible for consideration immediately upon their departure from Missouri State-West Plains.

There is no minimum or maximum number of people who may be inducted in any year, and anyone may submit nominations for consideration. Nominations are sought each year in July and August, and selections are made by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The committee selecting the inductees includes the Missouri State-West Plains athletic director and several current Grizzly Booster Club members. Head coaches serve on the committee in an ex-officio, non-voting capacity.

Officials with the Grizzly Booster Club established the Grizzly Hall of Fame in July 2002 at the beginning of the 10th year of the Grizzly Athletics program. The purpose of the hall is to honor former athletes and coaches who have distinguished themselves by making substantial contributions to Missouri State-West Plains Grizzly Athletics.

Past inductees include former basketball standouts Ben Avery, Donovan Brown, Jerome Jackson, Eric Judd, Anthony Perry and Jason Detrick, along with volleyball standouts Chelsea Taylor Corp, Quanna Speake Haffer, Laura Paul, Tamara Turner, Shannon Washburn and Sara Kincaid.

The formal Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held during a pre-game reception in conjunction with Missouri State-West Plains' homecoming activities on Feb. 3.

Inductees will be introduced during halftime, and they will each receive a special plaque or trophy.

For more information or for a nomination form, contact Dr. Herb Lunday, dean of student services and athletic director, at 417-255-7255.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: