[Nameplate] Fair ~ 76°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Sprint Cars to roar in West Plains

Thursday, September 21, 2006

The American Sprint Car Series is set for its fifth annual event at West Plains Motor Speedway Sept. 23, as the ASCS Mid-South Region takes to the semi-banked, 3/8-mile red clay oval in West Plains.

The annual Sprint Car event is sponsored by Dillard-Fowlkes GMC each year at WPMS.

Past ASCS winners at West Plains include Tim Crawley (2002 and 2003), Tim Montgomery (2004) and Gary Wright (2005).

Darren Stewart from Bixby, Okla., last year's O'Reilly ASCS National Tour runner-up, leads the ASCS Mid-South Region championship chase into West Plains. Stewart padded his point lead with a last corner pass to win the series' most recent event at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss., on Sept. 3.

With the win, Stewart became the sixth ASCS Mid-South Region winner in as many feature events this season.

Stewart, piloting car owner Bobby Sparks' No. 91 RESM Transport entry, holds a 127-point lead over Forrest City racer Bryce Vowan in the ASCS Mid-South Region championship points chase. Dale Howard from Byhalia, Miss., is just 13 points behind Vowan in third.

The ASCS Mid-South Region will be challenged by the forces from the O'Reilly Winged Outlaw Warriors on the card.

The WOW contingent will be led by current point leader Randy Martin of California, Mo., who secured his first series title in last year's event at WPMS.

Gates open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and racing action going green at 7 p.m. West Plains Motor Speedway is located six miles south of West Plains on US 63.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: