[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
Tornado Watch
Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2017

Mr. Dent provides hot racing

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Brent Martin and his staff from Mr. Dent sponsored one of the hottest nights of racing competition this season at West Plains Motor Speedway on Aug. 11.

Along with a hot program the fans were treated to an exhibition of mini-sprint racing when 11-year-old Logan Martin took to the track presenting our nation's colors during the national anthem and he also made several laps during intermissions, and was metered at 81 mph.

The winner in each of the classes was treated to extra money added to the weekly purse, courtesy of Mr. Dent.

Special guest of the evening included the staff and guests of Mr. Dent and Tom Gutowski, the National Competition Director of IMCA from Vinton, Ia.

Twenty-three IMCA Modifieds took the green flag in a fast, hot and furious feature.

The first caution came as Rustin Miller lost control on lap 11, and on the restart, Scott Crigler of Alton again took the lead.

Crigler was pressured by Fred Scarbrough of Koshkonong, who had to settle for a second-place finish.

Coming in third was Bill Adams of West Plains, followed by Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat, Lonnie Judd of Caulfield, Ben Ledgerwood of Birch Tree, Kevin Collins and Calvin Tribble, both of West Plains, Landon Clinton of Willow Springs, and Jason Snodgrass of Mountain Home.

Balance of the Modified field included Chris Piper, Jason Brigman and Jerry Croney, all of West Plains, Anthony Carnal of Cabool, Kirk Hutchings of West Plains, Brian Judd of Caulfield, Bobby Skinner of Moody, Rustin Miller of Houston, Matt Barry of West Plains, Joey Smith of Pomona, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, Denny Dennison of West Plains, and Carl Murphy of Caulfield.

In the Super Stock feature, Stan Ellison of West Plains again appeared on Victory Lane, marking a nearly-perfect season.

Coming in second was Andy Collins, followed by Bobby Bryant, both of West Plains, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Kevin Collins of West Plains, Steve Sanders of Mountain Grove, Dee Kelly of Birch Tree, Bill Dixon of Thayer, Jeff North of Rogersville, Derald Kelly of Birch Tree, Darren Fox of Vanzant, Tyson Troutman of Houston, Brian Ratliff of Hardy, and Richard Smith of Williford.

Rick Cooper won the Mr. Dent-sponsored Hobby Stock feature, his first win of the season at WPMS.

Taking second was Jessie Shearin of Blue Springs, followed by Dexter Frost and Randy Dennison, both of West Plains, Korey Whitelock of Alton, Dean Smith of Mammoth Spring, Travis Burnett of Ava, Don Wilson of Willow Springs, Scott Todd of Hardy, Shane Hitt and Brock Frost, both of Birch Tree, and Tony Krusen of Thayer.

Winner of the Mr. Dent-sponsored Cruiser feature was John Stiner of West Plains, followed by Clifford Collins II of West Plains, Tyler Newcom of Hardy, Rhonda Gunter, Mark Doiron, and Benny Grogan, all of West Plains, Sissy Ratliff Seamans of Imboden, Clifford Collins, Douglas Lambert and Bill Harden, all of West Plains.

Ben Piper of West Plains won the Youth Hobby Stock feature during the Mr. Dent-sponsored events.

Coming in second was Cody Toten of Pomona, Rowdy Trivitt of Williford, Austin White of Willow Springs, William Piper of Birch Tree and Kyle Duke of West Plains.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: