[Nameplate] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 47°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Regency Inn race program draws spirited crowd

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Regency Inn & Suites of West Plains sponsored the full weekly race program at West Plains Motor Speedway April 28, and to the delight of the crowd, it was another exciting night of high powered racing under clear skies with a warm, gentle evening breeze.

The evening's events began with an invocation followed by the Parade Lap that was made up of last week's winners, led by Travis Burnett of Ava.

Burnett is home on leave from Iraq and came to race his Hobby Stock while on leave.

Brandon Ball of West Plains won the IMCA Modified feature this week, with Chris Piper of West Plains taking second.

Balance of the field included Denny Dennison and Bill Adams, both of West Plains, Brian Judd of Caulfield, Bobby Skinner of Moody, Anthony Carnal of Cabool, Kevin Collins and Matt Barry, both of West Plains, Joey Smith of Pomona, Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Danny Peterson of West Plains, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, David Mallonee of West Plains, Fred Scarbrough of Koshkonong, Trent Cockrum of West Plains, Lonnie Judd of Caulfield, Carmon Vincent of Moody, Jason Brigman, Kirk Hutchings, and Calvin Tribble, all of West Plains, and Gary C. Green of Ava.

In the Super Stock feature, Stan Ellison of West Plains logged another feature win in a 20-lap event that was marred by several cautions.

Coming in second and running strong, was Dee Kelly of Birch Tree., followed by Bobby Bryant and Andy Collins, both of West Plains, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Brian Ratliff of Hardy, Herman Kelly of Birch Tree, Landon Clinton of Willow Springs, Derald Kelly of Birch Tree, Jason Johnson of Hardy, Jeff North of Rogersville, and Bill Dixon of Thayer.

Kevin Collins of West Plains scored his second Hobby Stock feature win of the season.

Chuck Russell, also of West Plains, pressured Collins throughout the event, but came up just a tad short, taking a strong second place this week.

Balance of the field included Rick Cooper of Thornfield, Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, Eric Hopper of Mountain Home, Dean Smith of Mammoth Spring, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Travis Burnett, Korey Whitelock of Alton, Tony Krusen of Thayer, Dexter Frost of West Plains, and Scott Todd of Hardy.

The Cruiser feature win went to Daniel Carter of Mountain Home.

Coming across the finish line second was Chris Skinner of Moody, followed by Clifford Collins, II, Mark Doiron, and Bill Harden, all of West Plains, Sissy Ratliff Seamans of Imboden, Rhonda Gunter, John Stiner and Dudley Collins, all of West Plains.

Taking the Youth Hobby Stock feature win was Austin White of Willow Springs, followed by William Piper of Birch Tree and Rowdy Trivitt of Williford.

Points leader going into the night was Ben Piper of West Plains, but he was sidelined with mechanical problems before the feature and was unable to take the green flag.



Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: