[Nameplate] Fair ~ 50°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 55°F
Tuesday, Sep. 27, 2016

Voters keep incumbents in office

Thursday, November 9, 2006

OREGON COUNTY -- There will be no new faces in January at the Oregon County Courthouse.

Leo Warren defeated Dan Fraley 2,272 votes (61 percent) to 1,450 to be re-elected Oregon County presiding commissioner.

"I thank everyone in th county that supported and voted for me on election day. It is an honor an a privilege to serve the residents of Oregon County," Warren said.

County Collector Jerry Richardson won easily over Marvin Simpson 2,726 votes (74 percent) to 978 votes.

State Rep. Mike Dethrow received 2,028 votes (54 percent) in Oregon County, to defeat challenger Kenny Burke who received 1,752.

As of press time, the votes from all other counties in the state representative race had not been reported.

Eighth District Congressman Jo Ann Emerson received 2,344 votes in the county, defeating her closest opponent, Veronica Hambacker, who garnered 1,309 votes. Vote totals from across the Eighth Congressional District were not complete as of press time.

Claire McCaskill defeated Jim Talent for the U.S. Senate seat in the county. McCaskill had 1,815 votes to Talent's 1,785. Statewide totals on the senate race were not available.

In other election results, incumbent Mammoth Spring Mayor Jean Pace defeated challenger Darrel Dubois. Pace received 246 votes (75 percent) to Dubois' 80 votes.

"I will continue to do the same things I have done in the past to make the city cleaner and more attractive. I will continue good money management and keep upgrading departments of the city and provide better services for the citizens of Mammoth Spring," Pace said.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: