[Nameplate] Fair and Breezy ~ 71°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Voters go to polls Nov. 7

Thursday, November 2, 2006

The Fulton County sheriff's position will be decided in the Nov. 7 election.

Incumbent Walter Dillinger (D) is running against write-in candidate Chuck Dabbs.

Two Fulton County justices of the peace seats are contested. Incumbent Majorie A. Rogers (R) is facing Robert "Bob" Russell (D) in District 6. In District 7 Tom Harris (R) will run against David Cunningham (D).

Chris Newberry of District 1, Lynn Guffey from District 2, Jim Bicker of District 3, Michael Barnett of District 4, Michael Roork of District 5, Jack Haney of District 8 and Jimmy Marler of District 9 are all running unopposed for justice of the peace.

Three Fulton County constable races are being contested. In the Benton/Union Township Richard "Dink" Hutchins (R) will face Garold "Butch" Blair (D) and Clifford Pleasant Sr. (I). M.L. "Mike" Hess (D) is being challenged by J. Dean Tharp (I) in the Cleveland Township. Wendell Lane (I) will face Gerald Holloway (I) for the Pleasant Ridge position.

Leonard Pickle of Afton Township, Boyd Dailey of Fulton County Township, Scott Holloway of Strawberry Township, Christopher Spurlock of Vidette/Big Creek Township and Philip Story of Washington Township are all running unopposed for constable.

In the city of Salem there are no contested races. Four are running unopposed for Salem alderman positions -- Betty Teague in Ward 1 Position 1, William "Bill" Newton in Ward 1 Position 2, Richard Frazier in Ward 2 Position 1, Dwayne Plumlee for city attorney and Pam Pleasant Bryant for Salem recorder/treasurer.

Incumbent Gary Clayton is running unopposed for Salem mayor.

In Mammoth Spring Darrell Dubois (I) is facing incumbent Jean Pace (I) for mayor.

In Mammoth Spring the following alderman races are unopposed: Jimmy Mills in Ward 1 Position 1, William Tibbits in Ward 2 position 1, Danny Busch in Ward 1 Position 2 and Larry Burns in Ward 2 Position 2.

In Horseshoe Bend the three mayoral candidates running as independents are Robert "Bob" Barnes, George Florea and George Williamson. The only contested Horseshoe Bend alderman race is Ward 1 Position 1 between Merlyn "Smiley" Lenhard (I) and David Siebert Sr. (I). Lloyd Ryan is running unopposed for Ward 1 Position 2.

In Ash Flat incumbent Mayor Brien Nix Hall (I) is being challenged by Danny Traw (I). Unopposed Ash Flat alderman races include Jerrell Lesley for Ward 1 Position 1, Carolyn Stewart for Ward 1 Position 2, Jeff Johnson for Ward 2 Position 1, Marty Goodwin for Ward 2 Position 2, Stacy Bratcher for Ward 3 Position 1 and Beth McEntire for Ward 3 Position 2.

In Cherokee Village incumbent Ray Maynard (I) will face Lloyd W. Hefley (I) in the mayor's race. Phyllis Endrihs is challenging incumbent recorder/clerk Susan Maynard. Contested Cherokee Village alderman races include Verna Mae Newman (I) who is running against June Chelsvig (I) for Ward 3 Position 2, and Peter Martin (I) who is facing Jeremy Stevens (I) for Ward 4 Position 2. Tom Thone in Ward 1 Position 2 and Angela Petersen in Ward 2 Position 2 are running unopposed for Cherokee Village alderman.

In the Hardy mayoral race, Nina A. Thornton (I) is running against Greg Bess (I) and Chad Wiles (I). The Hardy alderman race for Ward 1 Position 2 is between Melanie Dietsche (I), Jack Huffmaster (I) and Connie Bradley (I). Hardy Ward 2 Position 1 is between Nathan Circle (I) and James Hest (I). Unopposed Hardy alderman races are Amy Hussung for Ward 1 Position 1, Robert Gilliland for Ward 2 Position 2, Raymond Hicks for Ward 3 Position 1 and Barry Sellars for Ward 3 Position 2.

In Viola there are no contested races. Five aldermen are running unopposed -- Calvin Crawford for Position 1, Robert Wray for Position 2, Garry Williams for Position 3, James Collins for Position 4, Dennis Harber for Position 5 and Mike Beaver as the clerk/recorder.

The following county officials will run unopposed: County Judge Charles Willett, County Clerk Vickie Bishop, Treasurer Larry Humphries, Assessor Jerry Humphrey, Collector Calvin "Buster" Smith and Coroner Steven Barker.

Izard County races:

In Melbourne incumbent Mike Cone (I) is being challenged by Shannon Womack (I) in the mayoral race. In Melbourne there are four unopposed alderman races -- Bill Wright in Ward 1 Position 1, Jerry Crosby in Ward 3 Position 1, Bradley Sipe in Ward 4 Position 4 and William "Bill" Landreth in Ward 4 Position 2.

In the Oxford mayoral race Mike Warden (I) faces Earl Ogle (I). There is also one contested race for Oxford alderman for Ward 4 Position 1 between Brandon Steven Gilbert (I) and Russell Keith Sherrell (I). In the Oxford alderman race seven candidates are running unopposed: Herbert Moss in Ward 1 Position 1, Stephen Mark Stevenson in Ward 1 Position 2, Glendon S. Everett in Ward 2 Position 1, Lloyd Blevins in Ward 2 Position 2, Billy Dockins in Ward 3 Position 1, Tobias Leon McCurley in Ward 3 Position 2 and David Reinert in Ward 4 Position 2.

In Calico Rock incumbent Mayor Ronnie Guthrie is running unopposed. However, there are three Calico Rock alderman positions being contested. David Blakenship (D) faces Douglas Rasmussen (I) for Ward 1 Position 1. Cindy Hicks Wildhagen (I) faces Lance Whiteaker (D) for Ward 2 Position 1. Steven Marsee (I) faces Paul Killian (D) for Ward 4 Position 1. There are five unopposed aldermen in Calico Rock -- Bill Wiseman in Ward 1 Position 2, Gregory Allen Hamby in Ward 2 Position 2, Lynna D. Stanley in Ward 3 Position 1, Terry Jenkins in Ward 3 Position 2 and Ricky Knowles in Ward 4 Position 2.

In the Franklin mayoral race Johnny Walker (I) faces Darlene Folyer (I). There are three unopposed aldermen in Franklin -- Rene Reeves, Gary Taylor and Scottie Wolford.

In the Guion mayoral race Lynn Pittman is running unopposed. Elwin "Skip" Sapp in Position 1, Janet K. Lee in Position 2, Shelby Upton in Position 3, Randy Engles in Position 4 and Larry Sellars in Position 5 are running unopposed for Guion alderman positions.

In Mt. Pleasant Donnie Fulbright is unopposed in the mayoral race. Chris Zirkle in Position 5 is also unopposed in the alderman race.

In the Izard County portion of Horseshoe Bend there are two contested races -- Darryl Demm (I) against Barbara Bell (I) for Ward 2 Position 1, and Walter Mettler (I) against F. Lee Mears (I) and Colby Anderson (I) for Ward 2 Position 2. Willie Moser, O.G. Minze and George R. Flug are running unopposed in alderman races.

Joyce Klein is unopposed in the Pineville mayoral race. In Pineville Mary Alice Sexton in Position 2, Rex Whitfield in Position 4 and Kathy Tetrick in Position 5 are running unopposed.

The only contested race for constable is in the Jefferson Township between James A. Griffin (I) and write-in candidate Paula Payne. The following constable races are unopposed: Edward Sollock in Athens Township, Alvin J. Henry in Baker Township, Y.D. Whitehurst in Lunenburg Township, Tim Whitehurst in Millcreek Township, Dennis R. Atkins in New Hope Township and Jeff Sanders in Union Township.

The following Izard County officials are running unopposed: Judge Rayburn Finley, Assessor Tammy Hefington Sanders, Collector Marilyn Downing, Coroner Edward Howard, Treasurer Sylvia Engles and Sheriff Tate Lawrence.

Early voting began Oct. 23 across Arkansas. The general election is Nov. 7.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: