[Nameplate] Light Rain Fog/Mist ~ 60°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 62°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Municipal and SB elections set

Thursday, March 25, 2004

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- Municipal and school board elections will be held in Oregon County April 6. Polling places will open at 7 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m.

In the city of Koshkonong, there will be two names on the ballot for the mayor's seat: incumbent Tom Lowe and former Koshkonong Mayor Doyle Langley.

Three people have filed for the Ward 1 alderman seat in the city, Herbert "Smokey Jr." Stover IV, and Geneva Bernard. There are also three names on the ballot for the Ward 2 alderman position. They are Norma Duncan, Rose Vandiver and Brain Willbanks. All positions in the city of Koshkonong are two-year positions,

Two new school board members will be selected to serve on the Oregon-Howell R-III School Board for three-year terms. The candidates are: Bill Haley, Ray Blaylock, Marvin Jones and Jim Scott.

In the city of Alton there are two candidates for mayor: incumbent Richard Haigwood and challenger Tammy Curtis. The North Ward alderman seat at Alton will also be up for grabs. The alderman candidates are Dinah Slaughter and Bob Martin. All of the positions at Alton are two-year terms.

The Alton R-III School District is seeking two directors to serve three-year terms. Alton School Board candidates include Dennis Smith, Stacey Wiggs and Mike McElmurry.

Both the first and second ward alderman seats in Thayer are open for election. Incumbents Steve Alford and Fern Hickinbotham drew no opponents.

In the Thayer School District, two school board members will be elected for three-year terms.

Candidates for the Thayer School Board include: Wendy Carhart, Joe Henry, Jed Underwood, Bill Honeycutt and Doyle D. Fink.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: