[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 57°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 51°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Williams honored as citizen of year

Thursday, July 15, 2004

Staff Writer

THAYER -- Thayer resident Carlene Williams was selected as Citizen of Thayer at the recent Thayer Chamber of Commerce Banquet. Williams has been active for many years in community activities.

Dr. Ernie Mainprize, Dennis Redmon and Gene Boren were elected to the chamber board of directors.

Newly elected chamber president Jim Hart said the July 4th celebration was a success with an estimated 8,000 people attending. Hart said a special thanks goes to Ron Cornelius for his five years of consecutive service serving as chamber president as well as his efforts with the July 4th celebration. Hart said Gene and Peggy Boren provided tireless efforts in the preparation of the concession stand as well as all their work throughout the celebration.

The chamber president said Dan Wrenfow from Wallace and Owens Country Mart of Thayer donated watermelons for the celebration. He said many others assisted in making the celebration a success.

At the July 7 Thayer Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors meeting the following chamber officers were elected: Jim Hart, president; Bob Eckman, vice president; Donna Johnson, treasurer; and Mildred Cornelius, secretary.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: