[Nameplate] Fair ~ 48°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 46°F
Friday, Oct. 21, 2016

The Kerv claims Thayer WBA Championship

Thursday, April 1, 2004

The Thayer Women's Bowling Association completed its 2004 Championship Tournament March 13. The championship team was "The Kerv" with members Kay Hensley, Jodie Miller, Elena McCann and Rosa Hudson. Second place went to "No Sweat" members Pat Mills, Lynette Mills, Pat Caplinger and Linda Walters with only 23 less total points. Third place team "The Four Wonders" members were Alisa Dobell, Marlene Dobell, Lovie Guffey and Shirley Gardner.

Winners in doubles were mother and daughter Michel Wright and Sheryl Buckley. Second in doubles were Kay Hensley and Jodie Miller. Third place went to Barbara Holloway and Sue Adams.

Single winners were; first place Linda Walters, second place Jodie Miller and third place Sheryl Buckley.

All-Events winners were; first place Jodie Miller, second place Marlene Dobell and third place Kay Hensley.

Prize money was awarded to the first three positions in each category. First place winners received championship patches as well as cash.

The event gave out $100 in door prizes. Total cash prizes were $978.

A total of seven teams, 12 doubles, 24 singles and 21 all-event entries took part in the tourney.

Special awards went to Jodie Miller who bowled a 181, 181, 181 for a triple patch. In addition, she had a 543 series and received a 525 pin. High scratch game of 228 went to Linda Walters. She also won the high scratch series pin with a 546. Turkey pins were won by Rosa Hudson, Lynette Mills, Michel Wright, and Clara Blankenship. The theme for this year was "I Love to Bowl." All entrants received a pin with this year's theme on it.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: