[Nameplate] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Challenger Ratliff defeats incumbent Kunkel for Sharp County collector

Thursday, May 20, 2004

Staff Writer

After beating former JP Wayne Long in the May 18 primary with a vote of 2,289 (57 percent) to 1,722 (43 percent) Sharp County Judge Harold Crawford will go on to face another challenger, independent candidate J.R. Murphy, in the November general election.

The situation is just how it was two years ago when Crawford won the 2002 primary against Long and then won the general election against Murphy, Long's uncle, in the general election. Murphy has again filed as an independent candidate for judge.

Crawford said he would like to build upon the many improvements made in Sharp county since January 1999 including an $80,000 courthouse renovation, a $237,000 courthouse addition, a $1,112,510 rural water system extension, a $450,000 health building about to come on line and a $50,000 upgrade to the county's 9-1-1 system.

He said he would like to expand the county's infrastructure to recruit industries into the area to add to the job market and local economy. A new jail is also on the forefront of Crawford's agenda if he is elected to another two-year term in November. He also said the road department equipment and record keeping system will require upgrading to keep pace with the increased road maintenance, and he said he wants to work to gain aid from state and federal road assistance programs.

Charlotte Ratliff of Cave City will embark on a new career as county tax collector after beating long-time collector Jimmie Kunkel with a vote of 2,263 (56 percent) to 1,752 (44 percent).

Tommy Estes will serve another two-year term as county clerk after beating Frances "Frankie" Smith of Evening Shade by a vote of 2,617 (66 percent) to 1,369 (34 percent).

Wanda Girtman won the title of county treasurer. She will replace her husband, Norman Girtman, who is retiring. She was unopposed.

Randy McComas of Cherokee Village won the office of county coroner unopposed.

Ramona L. Lindley of Hardy was elected county surveyor unopposed.

With a vote of 3,170 (77 percent) to 931 (23 percent) Mark Johnson was elected Sharp County District Court judge. He beat R.T. Starken who was appointed judge in 2003.

Roger Stark of Hardy will serve as justice of the peace for District 1 after winning the primary over Boyd Estes of Mammoth Spring with a vote of 311 (69 percent) to 139 (31 percent). Current JP Marcus Goings did not seek re-election.

The winner of the District 6 JP race will be determined during a runoff in the coming weeks. Incumbent Bartus Allen and Nancy A. McGuire of Poughkeepsie will face each other in the runoff. Allen received 187 votes (45 percent) and McGuire received 107 votes (25 percent). Rickey Lawrence of Ravenden received 50 votes (12 percent) and Danny Denton of Poughkeepsie received 76 votes (18 percent).

Incumbent District 9 JP Buell Wilkes was re-elected after receiving 234 votes (60 percent). His challenger, Mike Medlock of Poughkeepsie, received 156 votes (40 percent).

David R. Cook received the majority of votes from Sharp County for the District 80 state representative with 1,227 votes (58 percent). Kirk Wilson received 516 votes (24 percent) and Dick Nelson Roberts received 372 votes (18 percent).

Steve A. Rose was re-elected as District 2 constable after beating challenger Tim McComas by a vote of 283 (60 percent) to 185 (40 percent).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: