[Nameplate] Fair ~ 49°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Races set for April election

Thursday, January 27, 2005

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- Few contested races are on the ballot for the April municipal school board and county elections in Oregon County.

Oregon County Clerk Gary Hensley said the District 3 position of the Oregon County Ambulance Board had two candidates file. They are Sheila Luck and Christy Casey. The District 5 position on the Ambulance Board had one candidate file, Carl Pressley. Both positions are three-year terms

Hensley said both incumbents to the Oregon County Health Department Board of Directors, John Barton and Betty Garrison, filed for re-election. Hesley said the incumbent on the Thayer Special Road District, Otis Butler, also filed for re-election.

The cities of Alton and Thayer will have alderman positions on the spring election ballot. Two candidates have filed for the North Ward alderman seats in Alton, Tammy Curtis and Don Ross. Glen Jenkins, the incumbent for the South Ward seat in Alton, filed for re-election. Both seats in the city of Alton are two-year terms.

Thayer Mayor Allen Deckard has filed for re-election, and he will face a challenger, Gary Clark. Thayer North Ward Alderman Buddy Rogers and South Ward Alderman Bob Grimes both filed for re-election and will face no opponents.

The tax collector seat in Thayer, a two-year position held by Janice Tolar, and the municipal judge position held by William T. Hass will both appear on the ballot, but both elected officials will have no opponent. The judge's position in Thayer is a four-year position.

None of the communities in Oregon County will have any city issues on the spring election ballot.

School board filings in the county also closed Jan. 18. There will be three positions open on the Thayer School Board and the three incumbents filed for those positions. They are Betty Morris, Bill Franz and Randy Ward.

The Couch School Board will also have three positions on the ballot. Two incumbents have filed for those positions -- Joe Garrison and Cassie Roberts. Newcomer Dean Britt has filed for the seat now held by Dean Bennett.

Three incumbents have filed for the three positions on the Alton School Board. They are Grover Crews, Kevin AraSmith and Chris Haney. Alton School District patrons will also be asked to pass a Qualified Zone Academy Bond (QZAB) issue to help with improvement on the buildings at the school.

The Koshkonong School District will have three positions open on the election ballot. Eight candidates have filed for those positions. They are David Baughman, Francis Scott Houle, Noval Willbanks, Bill Meeker, Kevin Kazen, Don Bush Jr., A.J. Filip and Kevin Brashear.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: