[Nameplate] Fair ~ 49°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Warren keeps top seat

Thursday, November 7, 2002

Votes in!

OREGON COUNTY -- In the race for Oregon County presiding commissioner incumbent Democrat Leo Warren defeated Republican challenger Stacey Wiggs. In complete but unofficial totals, Warren received 2,415 votes to Stacey Wiggs' 1,375.

Republican candidate Mike Dethrow from Alton carried Oregon County in his bid for state representative in the 153rd District. Dethrow received 2,715 votes in the county to defeat Democrat Larry Jackson of Doniphan, who received 1,141. Districtwide totals for the race were not known at press time.

Republican Jim Talent carried Oregon County in the race for United States Senate over incumbent Democrat Jean Carnahan. Carnahan received 1,835 votes in the county to Talent's 1,933.

Congresswoman Jo Ann Emerson received 2,684 in Oregon County, easily defeating both challengers in the 8th Congressional District race.

One school issues on the ballot in the county passed, the other was defeated. Proposition I at Thayer passed, 801 votes to 567. Although a majority of Alton voters supported the QZAB issue, it failed to garner the necessary 4/7ths to pass. The vote was 831 yes to 776 no.

Mammoth Spring Mayor Jean Pace was re-elected, receiving 262 votes to opponent Bob Vanderpool's 131 votes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: