[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Voters to go to polls in tri counties

Thursday, October 28, 2004

Staff Writers

Voters in Fulton, Izard and Sharp counties will go to the polls Nov. 2 to elect candidates to office. Following is a list of candidates in each of the tri counties.

Fulton County:

County Judge -- Gary Phillips (R); Charles Willett (D)

District 82 seat -- Curren Everett (D); Linn Garner (I); Diana Turner (R)

Justice of the Peace, District 2 -- Thadnel Willett (D); Sherry Jackson (I); Lynn Guffey (I)

Justice of the Peace, District 4 -- Doug Cunningham (D); Carl Arnold (I)

Justice of the Peace, District 6 -- Dale French (D); Marjorie Rogers (R)

Justice of the Peace, District 7 -- David Cunningham (D); Gene McBride (I)

Fulton Township Constable -- Richard T. Hutchinson (R); Frank Etheridge (D); Boyd L. Dailey (I)

Izard County:

County Judge -- Rayburn Finley (D); Jackie Copeland (I)

Sheriff -- Tate Lawrence (D); Kenneth Kent (I)

Justice of the Peace, District 4 -- Kenneth A. Ballman; Dale M. Finley

Horseshoe Bend Wards 1, 2 and 4 and Myron and Jefferson Township Constable -- Scott R. Holloway (D); Jack T. Ryan (I); Doug Liggett (R)

Franklin Treasurer/Recorder -- Darlene Folyer (I); Steve Smith (I)

Horseshoe Bend City Council Ward 3 Position 1 -- Robert E. Dupler (I); Willie Moser (I)

Melbourne City Council Ward 1 Position 2 -- Shane Linn (I); Shannon Womack (I)

Sharp County:

Independent candidate for Sharp County Judge J.R. Murphy is challenging incumbent Harold Crawford, who won the Democratic primary against Murphy's nephew, Wayne Long, in the May primary election.

This is the second time Murphy has challenged Crawford. In 2002 Crawford defeated Long in May and then defeated Murphy in the November election.

The following county races are uncontested:Sheriff -- Dale Weaver, DemocratTax collector -- Charlotte Ratliff, DemocratAssessor -- Kathy Nix, DemocratTreasurer -- Wanda Girtman, DemocratCoroner -- Randy McComas, DemocratSurveyor -- Ramona L. Lindley, DemocratDistrict 1 JP -- Roger C. Stark, DemocratDistrict 2 JP -- Darrell A. Kehrli -- IndependentDistrict 3 JP -- Greg Prenger, DemocratDistrict 4 JP -- Dennis R. Burton, DemocratDistrict 5 JP -- Ray Martin, DemocratDistrict 6 JP -- Bartus Allen, DemocratDistrict 7 JP -- Arnold Kunkel, DemocratDistrict 8 JP -- Jeral Hastings, DemocratDistrict 9 JP -- Buell Wilkes, Democrat

In Ash Flat, former city officials are vying for seats in City Hall.

Former Mayor Gary "Pepper" Martin is challenging incumbent Charlotte Goodwin for the position of recorder/treasurer. Former Police Chief Rickey E. Crook is challenging incumbent Marty Goodwin for Ward 2 Position 2 alderman. Larry Fowler, former city road superintendent, is facing incumbent Carolyn Stewart for Ward 1 Position 2 alderman. Former Alderman Joe Cotham seeks the Ward 3 Position 2 alderman seat along with Cindy Asher. Cotham ran for re-election in the last election and was defeated by Scott Brewer.

In the Ward 2 Position 1 seat Aldermen Brewer and Darrell Carpenter are running for the same position. Brewer has held the position since his election while Carpenter served as aldermen of Ward 3 Position 1. A recent redistricting of city wards placed the two aldermen in the same ward.

Alderman Jerrell Lesley is the only incumbent without a challenger. In Ward 1 Position 1 Stacy L. Bratcher is unopposed.

In Hardy, incumbent Nina A. Thornton is challenged by former Alderman Carolyn Rae Groves.

In the Ward 1 Position 1 alderman race incumbent Lloyd McEntire faces a challenge from Amy Hussung. In Ward 2 Position 1 Ann Raheem, former director of the Spring River Area Chamber of Commerce, is challenging incumbent Chad Wiles. Ward 2 Position 2 Alderman Ralph DePriest is challenged by Robert Gilliland, former mayoral candidate.

The following are uncontested races: Ward 1 Position 2 alderman -- incumbent Bobby HigginbottomWard 3 Position 1 alderman -- incumbent Raymond HicksWard 3 Position 2 alderman -- Betty Jo Halbach

In Highland, Recorder/treasurer Carol Frolow is challenged by Mary Ruth (Orosz) Wiles.

Ward 1 Position 1 Alderman Denise A. Gibbons is challenged by William "Bill" Rachal for her seat. In the Ward 1 Position 2 Willis "Willie" Eversoll is challenging incumbent Clyde L. Fisher. Ward 2 Position 1 Alderman Bob Vance will need to defeat challenger Mike Byron to serve another term. Ward 3 Position 2 Alderman Shawn A. Reed is challenged by Joyce Bettis. Ward 4 Position 1 Alderman Taryn Hill Duncan is challenged by Lawrence "Larry" H. Allen. In Ward 4 Position 2 newcomers Jerome Norwood and Sam Brock both filed for office.

In Ward 2 Position 2 Ty Casey was the only resident to file. Ward 3 Position 1 alderman David M. Harris filed for reelection without opposition.

In Cherokee Village, incumbent F.V. "Tom" Thompson and challenger Tom Henkels seek the Ward 1 Position 1 alderman seat. In Ward 1 Position 2 Pam Lueder and Jan Torbit are vying for votes. In Ward 2 Position 2 Angela Petersen and Brent Watts filed. In Ward 4 Position 2 Peter R. Martin and Darrell Dean McWilliams seek election. The following are unopposed:Ward 2 Position 1 Alderman Lewis HagermanWard 3 Position 1 Alderman Russ StokesWard 3 Position 2 Alderman James F. FentonWard 4 Position 1 Alderman Scott M. Paul

In Cave City, Recorder/treasurer Kathy Wooldridge is challenged by Andrea Smith.

In Ward 4 Position 1 Carey Markum and incumbent Ralph Parsley are vying for office. In Ward 4 Position 2 Dale King is challenging incumbent John Ables.

The following are uncontested races:Ward 1 Position 1 Alderman Ronald C. BurgeWard 1 Position 2 Alderman Billy CorterWard 2 Position 1 Alderman Edward TurnboughWard 2 Position 2 Alderman Jerry McCallWard 3 Position 1 Alderman Richard Hawkins IIWard 3 Position 2 Alderman Paul Wayne Johnson

There are no contested races in Evening Shade. The following filed for office:Recorder/treasurer -- Sandra McCallWard 1 Position 1 alderman -- Kimberly GraddyWard 1 Position 2 -- Annemarie W. Avey Ward 2 Position 1 -- Sharon KunkelWard 2 Position 2 -- Patty SampleWard 3 Position 1 -- Jerry BrownWard 3 Position 2 -- Dwight Sharp

There are no contested races in Sidney. The following filed for office: Recorder/treasurer -- Chrystal Turner Position 1 alderman -- Justin Davis Position 2 -- Morris MillerPosition 3 -- Michael Arnold Position 4 -- George CarterPosition 5 -- Alex Moody

There are no contested races in Williford. The following filed for office:Recorder/treasurer -- Wilford Dudley Louvier Position 1 alderman -- Jesse ElliottPosition 2 -- Louise GarsidePosition 3 -- Linda BensonPosition 4 -- Leonard WilesPosition 5 -- Jimmy D. Russell

Democrat David Cook of Williford, Republican Rodney Harris and Independent R. Garry Palmer, both of Pocahontas, are campaigning for the District 80 seat in the Arkansas House of Representatives. The candidate who wins the election will replace retiring Rep. Harmon Seawel, who was term-limited out of his position.

Democrat Curren Everett of Salem, Republican Diana Turner of rural Baxter County and Independent Linn Garner of Salem are vying for the District 82 seat in the Arkansas House of Representatives. The winner will replace Rep. Boyd Hickinbotham, who is also term-limited.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: