[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 60°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 62°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

New school board ready to work

Wednesday, April 25, 2007

MYRTLE -- The Couch School Board met in special session April 9 at 7 p.m.

The special meeting was called to accept the April 3 election results and dissolve the old school board.

Boyd Sorrell and Jesse Williams Jr. were sworn-in as newly elected board members. Joe Garrison was elected as president of the school board. Jeff Lawrence was elected vice president. Dean Britt was elected as secretary and Boyd Sorrell was elected as treasurer. Donna Honeycutt was appointed as school board secretary.

Immediately following the reorganization meeting, the board met in regular session in the school library.

Couch School Superintendent Tom Bull told the board he would be meeting in the near future with officials from the Forrest T. Jones company to hear their proposal on Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield health insurance for school employees.

School Board members voted to continue the Career Ladder Program for the 2007-08 school year provided the state continues to fund the program.

They voted to accept the 2007-08 school calendar as presented and also voted to start work on a FEMA grant.

School board members were informed that MAP and Terre Nova testing had began at the elementary school and junior high and will start at the high school this week.

Bull informed the board the spring Missouri School Board Association (MSBA) meeting would be held at The Landing in Van Buren and all board members were invited. He told them Couch High School senior Doug Melton had been awarded the Belcher Scholarship sponsored by the MSBA and that Melton would be attending the meeting.

Bull said all buses in the school district had passed their annual inspection.

During executive session the school board voted to offer contracts to Roberta Smith and Amy Kaufman for the 2007-08 school year and to accept the resignation of Deborah Strain.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: