[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 51°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 51°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Election results announced

Friday, April 18, 2008

Jan Thompson

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- Oregon County Clerk Gary Hensley has announced the winners from the April 8 Municipal and School Board Elections in the county.


Alton Mayor Richard Haigwood ran unopposed for the mayor's seat at Alton. He received 95 votes. There were two alderman at large positions open on the Alton City Council. Incumbent Tom Young was re-elected receiving 97 votes. Newcomer Eric King was elected receiving 61 votes. Incumbent William T. Young received 54 votes.


There were three seats open on the Couch School Board. Incumbent Dean Britt was re-elected with 76 votes; Joe W. Garrison, also received 76 votes; and newcomer Kimberly Martin was elected with 66 votes. Incumbent Casey Roberts was not re-elected. He received 45 votes.


Incumbent Koshkonong Mayor Bud Adams ran unopposed in last week's election. He received 30 votes.

There were two alderman at large seats open at Koshkonong. Incumbent J.D. Stevens received 24 votes and Dale Harrison received 27 votes.

The sales tax issue on the Koshkonong ballot passed with 29 yes votes and eight no votes.

There were three positions open on the Koshkonong School Board. The three winners were: Bill Meeker, 98 votes; Don Bush Jr., 87 votes; and Tom Lewallen, 118 votes. Ray Dern received 61 votes and Marcus Reynolds received 49 votes.


Incumbent Mike Harber defeated challenger John Hutchison with 55 votes to 13 for the first ward alderman position.

Incumbent Steve Alford ran unopposed for the second ward alderman seat. He received 70 votes.

Alvin Clark was the winner for the second ward 1-year unexpired alderman position receiving 37 votes. Norman Trimble received 34 votes and Gary L. Clark received 12 votes. Clark was asked by the mayor to fill the alderman position last year after health problems caused Junior Brewer to resign as alderman.

There were three positions open on the Thayer School Board. The winners were Bill Franz with 148 votes; Doyle Fink, 130 votes; and Randall Ward, 124 votes. Incumbent Betty Morris received 114 votes and was not re-elected.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: