[Nameplate] A Few Clouds ~ 58°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Filing ends

Thursday, April 3, 2008

Jan Thompson

Staff Writer

OREGON COUNTY -- The primary election will be held in Missouri Aug. 5. Oregon County Clerk Gary Hensley said the deadline to register to vote for the August Primary is July 9.

There will be six open offices on the ballot. Filing for the positions ended March 25.

The offices open and those that have filed are:

Sheriff: Tim Ward, Thayer; J. Stacey Hainey, Alton; and George R. Underwood, Myrtle. All the candidates filed as Democrats.

Surveyor: Scotty D. Simer, Thayer, Democrat.

Northern District Commissioner: Edward Casey, Alton; Jerry Chewning, Alton; Fred Vest, Alton; Dennis Foulks, Alton; Jeff Hollis, Alton; Richard Todd, Alton; and Don Ross of Alton. Casey, Chewning and Ross filed as Republicans and all other candidates filed as Democrats.

Coroner: Tom Clary, Alton, Democrat.

Public Administrator: Mike Crawford, Alton, Republican.

Southern District Commissioner: John Wrenfrow, Myrtle, and Leland Hall of Couch, both candidates filed as Democrats.

Assessor: Charles Alford, Alton, Democrat.


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: