[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 51°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 50°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Air Evac night blows warm temps into WPMS

Wednesday, May 2, 2007

After a difficult start to the racing season, fans and drivers alike were delighted with a great night of racing during the Air Evac Life Team sponsored events at West Plains Motor Speedway on April 21.

Eighty-degree temperatures enabled the traditional evening schedule to resume.

Twenty-three IMCA Modifieds took the green flag with two sides lined by heat race competition.

The 20-lap feature was marred by six cautions and a red flag due to collisions, a fire and numerous tire and equipment failures.

Finally, emerging as a first-time feature winner was 17-year-old Ben Ledgerwood of Birch Tree, with second going to veteran driver Danny Peterson of West Plains, while third went to another veteran, Brandon Ball, also of West Plains.

Rounding out the top ten were Brian Judd of Caulfield, Joey Smith of Pomona, Kevin Collins, Chris Piper, Denny Dennison, Matt Barry and Jason Brigman, all of West Plains.

Balance of the field included Rustin Miller of Houston, Mo, Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Anthony Carnal of Cabool, Lonnie Judd of Caulfield, Kirk Hutchings of West Plains, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, Fred Scarbrough of Koshkonong, Jerry Croney, Trent Cockrum, and Bill Adams, all of West Plains, Bobby Skinner of Moody, Scott Crigler of Alton, and Calvin Tribble of West Plains.

Sidelined earlier were Carmon Vincent of West Plains and Billy Sullinger of Pocahontas.

Stan Ellison of West Plains claimed another Super Stock feature win.

Taking second was Bobby Bryant of West Plains, followed by Derald Kelly and Dee Kelly, both of Birch Tree, Dexter Frost and Andy Collins, both of West Plains, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Landon Clinton of Willow Springs, Jeff North of Rogersville, Herman Kelly of Birch Tree, Brian Ratliff of Hardy, Bill Dixon of Thayer, and Chris Junkersfeld of Pocahontas.

Dexter Frost of West Plains logged his first feature win in the Hobby Stock Division this season.

Taking second was Rick Cooper of Thornfield, followed by Chuck Russell of West Plains, Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, Tony Krusen of Thayer, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Jessie Shearin of Blue Springs, Mo., who brought out a caution flag when his steering wheel came off, Randy Dennison of West Plains, Korey Whitelock of Alton, Travis Burnett of Ava, Dean Smith of Mammoth Spring, and Marty Toten of Pomona rounding out the field.

Making a return visit to Victory Lane was John Stiner of West Plains, with his second win of the season in the Cruiser Division.


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: