[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 59°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Race develops for mayor's position at Thayer

Thursday, January 25, 2007

OREGON COUNTY -- Filing for municipal and school board positions for the April 3 election ended in Oregon County Jan. 16.

There are two 3-year positions open on the Alton School Board. Those filing for those positions are incumbents Dennis Smith and Mike McElmurry.

In the Couch School District there will be two 3-year seats up for election on the school board and one 2-year seat.

Those who have filed for the 3-year seats are incumbent Boyd Sorrell and Jesse Williams Jr. Those who have filed for the 2-year position are Daniel Nessling and Tim Garrison.

At Koshkonong, two 3-year positions will be on the election ballot. Those filing for the school board seats are Ray Blaylock, Jim Scott, Ron McNear, Jerry L. Tullos Jr., Scott York and Ron Roberts Jr.

There are also two 3-year seats on the ballot in the Thayer school district. Jed Underwood, Wendy Carhart, both incumbents, and Doyle D. Fink have filed for the Thayer school board seats.

The city of Alton will have two 2-year alderman-at-large positions on the April 3 ballot. Glen Jenkins, Don Ross, incumbents, and Jason Smith have filed for the positions at Alton.

Thayer will have the mayor's seat on the ballot. Those who have filed for mayor are incumbent Mayor Allen Deckard, Gary Clark and Merle Williams. Incumbent Buddy Rogers and Joe Barbee have filed for the Ward I alderman seat at Thayer. Incumbent Robert "Bob" Grimes, Junior Brewer and Johnny Jewell have filed for the Ward II seat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: