[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 61°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 55°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Walsh makes return trip to Victory Lane

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

FIRST PLACE: Shawn Walsh (left) of Ash Flat won the Don's Goodyear Auto Service Center sponsored IMCA Modified feature June 7 at West Plains Motor Speedway. Flagman Trent Cockrum (right), provided the traditional winner's flag wave. Photo/Mitts Thomas
Don's Goodyear Auto Service Center of West Plains sponsored a full weekly race program at West Plains Motor Speedway June 7, and Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat made a return visit to Victory Lane this week after winning the Don's Goodyear sponsored IMCA Modified feature.

Having to settle for second was Tony Anglin of Walnut Ridge, and he was followed by Rustin Miller of Houston, Kevin Collins, Chris Piper, Brandon Ball, Matt Barry, Jason Brigman and Brian Judd, all of West Plains, Ben Ledgerwood of Birch Tree, Chris Skinner of Moody, Calvin Tribble and Danny Peterson, both of West Plains, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, Carmon Vincent and Bobby Skinner, both of Moody, Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Denny Tryon of West Plains, Lonnie Evans of Houston, Tony Carnal of Cabool, Fred Scarbrough of Koshkonong and Jerry Croney of West Plains.

The Super Stock feature winner was Andy Collins of West Plains. This was Andy's first appearance on Victory Lane in quite some time and he ran a good race, finishing ahead of a strong field that included Derald Kelly of Birch Tree, Carmon Vincent of Moody, Kevin Collins of West Plains, Curt Cotter of Mountain Home, Stan Ellison of West Plains, Bruce Sutterfield of Bono, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Herman Kelly of Birch Tree, Jeff North of Rogersville, Will Love of Batesville, Darren Fox of Theodosia, Dee Kelly of Birch Tree, Jamey Daughhetee of Walnut Ridge, Bobby Bryant of West Plains and Chris Junkersfeld of Pocahontas.

After an extensive tech session, the Hobby Stock feature winner was Dexter Frost of West Plains, followed by Kevin Collins and John Stiner, both of West Plains, Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, Doyle Frost of Alton, Larry Duke of West Plains, Marty Toten of Pomona and David Medlock and Jessie Shearin, both of West Plains.

Clifford Collins II of West Plains won the Don's Goodyear sponsored Cruiser feature event.

Coming across the finish line second was Tyler Newcom of Hardy, followed by Mark Doiron of West Plains, Sissy Ratliff-Seamans of Imboden, Bill Harden, Rhonda Gunter, Doug Lambert, John Zuchowski and Benny Grogan, all of West Plains.

Youth Hobby Stock feature winner this week was Ben Piper of West Plains. Ben has had a near-perfect season to date, but the up and coming drivers are giving him a good race.

Taking second this week was Kyle Duke of West Plains, and Kyle is improving with each week's competition. Third was Cody Toten of Pomona, followed by Kevin May, also of Pomona, Chase Williams of Caulfield, Dakota Frost of West Plains and A.J. Smith of Mammoth Spring rounded out the field.

All the young drivers are showing improvement with each week's events.

Next week will be the South Howell County Ambulance Race Night, with gates opening at 5 p.m., hotlaps at 6:30 and racing at 7 p.m.

Adult admission is $8, senior citizens $5, kids 7-11 $2 and those 6-and-under are always free.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: