[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 66°F
Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Hilton wins five-game sweeper

Thursday, July 3, 2008

Harrison's Jim Hilton took top honors at the Indian Hills Bowl five-game scratch sweeper event recently.

Hilton took home $620 as champion after defeating North Little Rock's Mike Mowrey 202-192 in the finals.

There were 31 bowlers in the event and 10 finished in the plus.

Mowrey was top seed with +230. He was fired up and started out with a 256, 254, and 300 for an 810 series. He finished with a 237 and 183.

In second place was Hilton with +126. Third place went to Darren Breedlove from Harrison with +94. Fourth position went to Steve Swain from Kennett, Mo., with a +89. Fifth place went to Jack Armstrong from Cabot with +55.

These five bowlers went into a stair-step roll off.

Swain defeated Armstrong 258-198. Next up for Swain was Breedlove. Swain won that close match 201-194.

Hilton then defeated Swain 237-203, setting up the final match of the day between Mowrey and Hillton.

Both bowlers struggled a bit in the final match, but then Hilton struck in the 10th frame which would force a tie if he spared in the 11th frame.

He rolled a strike in the 11th frame which meant he needed only one pin in the 12th frame to win, and he struck again for the victory.

Local bowler Tim Jones from Hardy finished sixth with +50. Another local bowler, Tony Doncheff from Ash Flat, finished seventh with +45, only 10 pins from the cut. Eighth place went to Chris Giesler from Little Rock with +33. DeeDee Jeffries from Little Rock finished ninth with +25. In 10th place was Mike Robertson from Harrison with +19.

The pay out went as follows; 1st: $620; 2nd: $380; 3rd: $184.50; 4th: $110; 5th: $85.

Arkansas scratch and handicap bowlers who would like to go to an amateur statewide bowlers' Web site can visit www.bowling300.com. For the Arkansas Scratch Bowlers Tour (ASBT) and upcoming Arkansas Scratch Seniors Bowling Tour (ASSBT), visit www.bowlasbt.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: