[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 51°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 51°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Rain can't wash out FNBC event

Thursday, July 3, 2008

AND THE WINNER IS ...: Kyle Duke, son of Glenn and Heather Duke of West Plains, won the First National Banking Co., sponsored Youth Hobby Stock feature at West Plains Motor Speedway June 29. Duke(left) displays his trophy while track official Guy Hollingshad provides the traditional winner's flag wave. Photo/Mitts Thomas
The First National Banking Co. (FNBC) race events set for the evening of June 28 at West Plains Motor Speedway were dampened by the torential rains of the day.

But with the prediction of great weather on the next afternoon, officials opted to run the event June 29 and fans enjoyed a great afternoon of high-powered entertainment.

Anxious racers preparing for the Firecracker Weekend lined up early at the pit gate. The Mid-Season Special was scheduled with current points leaders set to be honored.

Taking the honors and receiving special plaques to commemorate the event were the points leaders in each of the five classes. For IMCA Modified, it was Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat. In Super Stock, it was Derald Kelly of Birch Tree. John Stiner of West Plains was honored in the Hobby Stock division. In the Cruiser division, it was Tyler Newcom of Hardy and in Youth Hobby, Ben Piper of West Plains was honored.

As the Modified drivers checked in, they autographed T-shirts to be used during the annual T-shirt toss sponsored by FNBC.

These shirts were tossed during intermission and the person who caught the T-shirt signed by the winner of the IMCA Modified feature was presented $200 in cash, courtesy of the sponsor.

This year's winner was Tiffany Stokes of West Plains, who caught Brandon Ball's autographed shirt.

Ball was followed across the finish line by Matt Barry of West Plains, Rustin Miller of Houston, Chris Piper and Danny Peterson, both of West Plains, Chris Skinner of Moody, Scott Crigler of Alton, Jason Snodgrass of Mountain Home, along with Jerry Croney and Jason Brigman, both of West Plains.

Balance of the field included: Calvin Tribble of West Plains, Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Lonnie Evans of Houston, Denny Tryon of West Plains, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, Chris Junkersfled of Pocahontas, Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat, Gary Stolba of Willow Springs, Bobby Skinner of Moody, Fred Scarbrough of Koshkonong, Kevin Salter of Batesville and Billy Sullinger of Pocahontas.

The Super Stock feature winner was Jeff North of Rogersville, followed by Dee Kelly of Birch Tree, Nicholas Black of Van Buren, Andy Collins of West Plains, Tony Anglin of Walnut Ridge, Joe Payne of Concord, Darren Fox of Mountain Grove, Jamel Korkis of Cave City, Aubrey Sloan of Mountain View, Ar., and Derald Kelly of Birch Tree.

Balance of the Super Stock field included: Kevin Collins of West Plains, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Herman Kelly of Birch Tree, Stan Ellison of West Plains, Robby Arnold of Paragould, Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat and Brian Ratliff of Hardy.

West Plains native Kevin Collins won the Hobby Stock feature, followed by Jessie Shearin, also of West Plains, Robert Williams of Van Buren, Rick Cooper of Thornfield, Shane Hitt of Birch Tree, John Stiner and Dexter Frost, both of West Plains, Brock Frost and William Piper, both of Birch Tree and Larry Duke and David Medlock, both of West Plains.

Clifford Collins II of West Plains took the Cruiser feature honors this week. Coming in second was Tyler Newcom of Hardy, followed by Mark Doiron, Benny Grogan, Rhonda Gunter, John Zuchowski, and Doug Lambert, all of West Plains, Matt Hall of Concord, Chris Eash of Highland and Bill Harden of West Plains.

Taking his first Youth Hobby Stock feature win was Kyle Duke of West Plains, followed by Ben Piper of West Plains, Cody Toten of Pomona, Chase Williams of Caulfield, A.J. Smith of Mammoth Spring and Kevin May of Pomona.

Next week will be the Simons and Sunoco sponsored three-day Firecracker Weekend, with three big nights of qualifying for the Super Stock division and a climax on Saturday night where the winner will take home $5,000.

Along with Super Stock heats and a feature event on July 3, support classes will be Hobby and Youth Hobby. July 4 will see the same format, plus the Cruisers will serve as support.

The finale will be July 5 with the same format for qualifying along with the 35-lap feature and the IMCA Modified points race.

One of the most anticipated events of the year is always the "Salute to our Troops" fireworks extravaganza presented by Air Magic of Batesville.

Gates will open each night at 6 p.m., with hotlaps at 7:30 and racing at 8 p.m. Adult admission the first two nights will be $10, kids 7-11 $3 and those 6-and-under are always free.

Saturday night admission for adults will be $15 and kids 7-11 $5. For additional information call the track at 417-257-2112 or the business office at 870- 994-7447.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: