[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 57°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 51°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Arkansas Lightning team qualifies for world series

Thursday, July 17, 2008

The Arkansas Lightning Baseball Team recently traveled to Marion, Ark., to participate in the 13AA State Tournament. The Lightning team finished runner-up in state and by doing so qualified for the 13AA World Series.

The team members are: Casey York, Dillon Turner, Justice Sparks, Sterling Stowers Quentin Houghtaling, Marcus Cagle, John Turney, Dane Richardson, Ray Clark, Damian Rains and Quinton Maag.

The team is coached by Matt Turner, Mike Richardson, Joe York, Stan Maag, Travis Rains and Richard Stowers.

Three team members were selected to all-tournament and all-state honors. Dale Richardson, Sterling Stowers and John Turney. John Turney also was selected as Tournament Defensive MVP.

The Arkansas Lightning sponsors are U.S. Bank, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative and the Bank of Salem.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: