[Nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 64°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Final election results released

Thursday, August 14, 2008

OREGON COUNTY -- Oregon County Circuit Clerk Gary Hensley said everything went pretty smooth in the Aug. 5 Primary Election in Oregon County.

Hensley had predicted a voter turnout of 36 percent. "There are 6,783 registered voters in Oregon County. Our turnout for the primary election was 32.5 percent. Statewide only 19 percent of the voters turnedout to vote in the primary," he said.

The only thing locally that will be on the Nov. 4 General Election Ballot will be the Northern District Commissioners race.

Edward Casey received the Republican nomination with 152 votes. He will face Democrat Brad Vest who received 242 votes.

The big upset in the Primary Election occurred when long-time Sheriff Tim Ward was defeated by George Underwood from Myrtle. Underwood received 877 votes to Ward's 785 votes, Stacey Hainey received 97 votes in the sheriff's race.

In state races in Oregon County on the Republican ticket, incumbent Eighth District Congresswoman Jo Ann Emerson received 390 votes. For State Senate District 33, incumbent Chuck Pergason received 363 votes.

State Rep. Mike Dethrow who ran unopposed, received 401 votes.

On the Democratic ticket, Joe Allen received 1,251 votes for Eighth District congressman in Oregon County. Eric Reeve who ran for State Senate District 33 received 1,207 votes in Oregon County.

For full election results view the election graph on page 17A of this weeks paper.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: