[Nameplate] Light Rain Fog/Mist ~ 60°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 62°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Walsh fastest in class at WPMS

Thursday, August 28, 2008

SWEET NUMBER 10: Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat won his 10th IMCA Modified feature of the season during the Dillard-Fowlkes Motor Co., sponsored race program at West Plains Motor Speedway Aug. 23. From left are: faithful fan Gail Medlock of Hardy, Walsh's son Brandon and Shawn Walsh. Photo/Mitts Thomas
After a week off, the racers where eager to get to West Plains Motor Speedway, and fans were eager to watch, too.

The Dillard-Fowlkes Motor Co., sponsored event was spared the showers that dotted the area on Aug. 23, and the racers hit the track full-bore.

Taking the IMCA Modified feature win this week was Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat, but only after so many cautions that the 20-lap event ran over an hour in length, prompting officials to consider a time limit/counting caution laps after a certain number of cautions. This will be further discussed next Saturday night.

Coming in second in the Modified feature was Bill Adams of West Plains, followed by Brian Judd of Caulfield, Kevin Collins of West Plains, Kanyan Methvin of Yellville, Danny Peterson of West Plains, Chris Skinner of Moody, Billy Sullinger of Pocahontas, Chris Piper of West Plains and Tony Carnal of Cabool.

Kevin Collins won the Super Stock feature this week, and coming in second was Stan Ellison from West Plains. Jeff North of Rogersville, Cody Kelly and Derald Kelly, both of Birch Tree, Andy Collins of West Plains, Steve Sanders of Norwood, Darren Fox of Mountain Grove, Clint Seamans of Imboden, Bill Dixon of Thayer, Will Love of Batesville, Richie Tosh of Salado, Dee Kelly of Birch Tree and Dexter Frost of West Plains rounded out the field.

Winner of the Hobby Stock feature this week was Dexter Frost, followed by Kevin Collins and John Stiner, all of West Plains, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Chuck Russell, David Medlock and Larry Duke, all of West Plains, Travis Burnett of Ava, Richard Smith of Williford, Dean Smith of Mammoth Spring, Brent Wood of Sturkie and Randy Rader of West Plains.

Clifford Collins II of West Plains scored another Cruiser feature win this week, with Sissy Seamans-Ratliff of Imboden coming in second, followed by Mark Doiron of West Plains, Tyler Newcom of Hardy, Bill Harden, John Zuchowski, Rhonda Gunter, and Ray Fuselier, all of West Plains, Les Snyder of Birch Tree, Doug Lambert of West Plains and Kalvin Kelly of Birch Tree.

Winner of the Youth Hobby Stock feature was Kyle Duke of West Plains. Taking second was Ben Piper, also of West Plains, followed by Chase Williams of Caulfield, A.J. Smith of Mammoth Spring, Skyler Cochran of West Plains and Cody Toten, of Pomona.

Next week, Coca-Cola will be sponsoring the 18th annual Fall Nationals, featuring the Show-Me Racin' Series Late Models, along with a full points program for the weekly classes. Gates will open at 5 p.m., with hotlaps at 6:30 and racing at 7 p.m. Adult admission for this special event is $15, kids 7-11 $5 and those 6-and-under are always free.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: