[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 58°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

County races heat up

Thursday, September 4, 2008

The municipal filings for 2008 were due in the Sharp County Courthouse by noon Aug. 26. There will be three contested races in the county.

In Ash Flat, Ronda Renihan, Sue Ross, and Bryan Martin have all filed for Ward 2, Position 1. All other positions are uncontested. Filing are: Ward 1, Position 1, Jerrell Lesley; Ward 1, Position 2, Thomas Rigsby; Ward 2, Position 2, John Goodwin; Ward 3, Position 1, Stacy Bratcher; Ward 3, Position 2, Annette Wolverton; and Recorder/Treasurer, Charlotte Goodwin of Ash Flat.

Cave City's filings were all uncontested and included Recorder/Treasurer Kathy Wooldridge; alderman, Ward 1, Position 1, Ronald Burge; Ward 1, Position 2, Billy Corter; Ward 2, Position 1, Edward Turnbough; Ward 2, Position 2, Jerry McCall; Ward 3, Position 1, Richard Hawkins; Ward 3, Position 2, Paul Johnson; Ward 4, Position 1, Ralph Parsley; and Ward 4, Position 2, Dale King.

Cherokee Village's filings are also uncontested and included: alderman, Ward 1, Position 1, Lynn Maxedon; Ward 2, Position 1, Billie Shelton; Ward 3, Position 1, Russell Stokes; and Ward 4, Position 1, Ray Torbit.

In Hardy, Sherri Groves and Bob Gilliland have both filed for Ward 2, Position 2. All other positions are uncontested, Recorder/Treasurer Carolyn Groves; alderman Ward 1, Position 1, Amy Hussung; Ward 1, Position 2, Margaret Harness; Ward 3, position 1, Raymond Hicks; and Ward 3, Position 2, Sue Taylor.

In Highland, Lawrence Allen and Sam Brock have both filed for Ward 4, Position 1. All other filings are uncontested. They include: Recorder/Treasurer, Mary Wiles; Alderman Ward 1, Position 1, Mary Jo Clark; Ward 1, Position 2, Woodrow Pardue; Ward 2, Position 1, Jeff Holden; Ward 2, Position 2, Nathan Casey; Ward 3, Position 1, David Harris; Ward 3, Position 2, Joe Black; and Ward 4, Position 2, Jack Kimbrell.

In Sidney, all positions are uncontested. Recorder/Treasurer, Chrystal Turner; alderman Position 1, Wendell Turner; Position 2, Colby Martin; Position 3, Michael Arnold; Position 4, Glen Schoon; and Position 5, Alex Moody.

In Williford, all positions are also uncontested: alderman, Position 1, Jimmy Russell; Position 2, Dereck Couch; Position 3, Linda Benson; Position 4, Jessee Couch; and Position 5, George Porter.

Voters will cast their ballots on Nov. 4. Deadlines to register to vote in the November election is Oct. 6. Early voting will begin Oct. 20.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: