[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 54°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Sprint cars light up WPMS

Thursday, September 25, 2008

WINNER: Danny Smith of Danville, Ind., won the Dillard-Fowlkes Motors sponsored O'Reilly Midwest All-Star Sprint Car Series 30-lap feature event at West Plains Motor Speedway Sept. 20. Smith (left) is shown on Victory Lane with his crew chief and his 410 winged sprint car. Photo/Mitts Thomas
The Midwest All-Star Sprint Car Series came to West Plains Sept. 20, with a group of hungry sprint car drivers ready for the excitement of the red clay of West Plains Motor Speedway.

The sprints ran three heats and a 10-lap dash to determine the feature lineup, and although the dash left one driver sidelined after flipping six times in turn 2 on the opening lap, they set the field for the 30-lap feature.

Danny Smith of Danville, Ind., took the top honors of the evening with Ryan Bunton of Morton, Ill., coming in second, followed by points leader, Jerrod Hull of Sikeston.

In the makeup features from the Air-Evac sponsored Sept.13 event, Clifford Collins II of West Plains won the Cruiser feature, followed by Bill Harden of West Plains, Tyler Newcom of Hardy, Mark Doiron, Rhonda Gunter, John Zuchowski and Doug Lambert, all of West Plains.

The Hobby feature winner from the Sept. 13 event was Dexter Frost of West Plains, followed by Mike Elliott of Ellsinore, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, John Stiner, Jessie Shearin, Stan Ellison, Glenn Duke and David Medlock, all of West Plains, Richard Smith of Williford, Larry Duke of West Plains, Brent Wood of Sturkie, Kevin Collins of West Plains and Marty Toten of Pomona.

The weekly class features from the Dillard-Fowlkes sponsored night saw Brandon Ball of West Plains take the IMCA Modified top honors, followed by Rustin Miller of Houston, Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Bill Adams of West Plains, Tony Carnal of Cabool, Lonnie Evans of Houston, Brian Judd of West Plains, Chris Skinner of Moody, Jason Snodgrass of Mountain Home and Calvin Tribble of West Plains.

Winner of the Hobby Stock feature was Jessie Shearin of West Plains, followed by John Stiner and Dexter Frost, both of West Plains, Mike Elliott of Ellsinore, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Chuck Russell of West Plains, Korey Whitelock of Alton, Richard Smith of Williford, Larry Duke and David Medlock, both of West Plains, Scott Todd of Hardy, Randy Rader of West Plains, Brent Wood of Sturkie, Glenn Duke of West Plains, Jeff North of Rogersville, and Randy Dennison of West Plains.

Clifford Collins II won the Cruiser feature this week, followed by Tyler Newcom, Bill Harden, Mark Doiron, Rhonda Gunter, John Zuchowski and Ray Fuselier.

Taking the top honors in the Youth Hobby feature again this week was Kyle Duke of West Plains. Coming in second was Ben Piper, also of West Plains, followed by Chase Williams of Caulfield, A.J. Smith of Mammoth Spring, Skyler Cochran of West Plains, Austin White of Willow Springs, and Dakota Frost of West Plains.

Next weekend will be the season finale.

The Glenn's Truck Service sponsored program will feature a topless IMCA Modified feature where drivers have the option of running with or without their car's roof.

This option will apply to both the makeup modified feature from Sept. 13 and the Glenn's sponsored event.

A $300 bonus is offered to the winner or highest finisher of the last night's feature who is running without their car roof.

There will also be a makeup feature for the Super Stock from Sept. 13, along with the night's feature event.

Hobby Stock, Cruiser and Youth Hobby Stock will each be running one full points program.

West Plains Recycling is sponsoring a modified mechanics race with a $500 purse.

Gates will open as usual at 5 p.m., with hotlaps at 6:30 p.m., and racing at 7 p.m.

Adult admission is $8, senior citizens $5, kids 7-11 $2, and those 6-and-under are always free.

For additional information call the business office at 870-994-7447 or check the website at www.westplains-speedway.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: