[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Mammoth Spring city council members sworn in

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Jan Thompson

Staff Writer

MAMMOTH SPRING -- Mammoth Spring City Council members and the city's recorder treasurer were sworn-in at the Jan. 5 Mammoth Spring City Council meeting.

Councilmen sworn-in were, Jim Mills, Daniel Busch, Peggy Smith and Larry Burns. Joan Baker was sworn-in as the recorder treasurer.

The council voted to pass an ordinance to amend the 2008 city budget and also passed an ordinance to adopt the 2009 budget. Mayor Jean Pace said there was not much difference between this year's budget and last years.

They discussed three properties in the city that Pace said would be voted on to be condemned at the February council meeting. "These three properties are health and safety hazards. The owners of the properties have been non-responsive to our letters warning them they need to be cleaned up. All three are vacated and empty," Pace said.

Pace gave the council an update on the grant situation in the city. She has applied for a grant from USDA to purchase a new four-wheel-drive vehicle for the police department.

Pace has also applied for another USDA grant to help update the city's water and sewer system. She said once the grant is approved, bids on the project will be advertised.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: