[Nameplate] A Few Clouds ~ 66°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Bailey named to All-District squad

Thursday, April 2, 2009

The Class 3 District 10 All-District squads were announced recently and Alton Lady Comet Jessica Bailey played her way to a spot on the girls' first team.

Bailey averaged 10.7 points per game this season, while shooting 48 percent from the field. Bailey hooked up on 57 3-pointers this year, many coming at critical points in the game.

She also dished out 3.8 assists a game for the Lady Comets.

And considering the young team that Alton Head Coach Shane Benson fielded this year, Bailey's performance was just what the doctor ordered for the Lady Comets.

"She was really a steady player for us. She was a great 3-pointer shooter," Benson said. "She also handled the ball a lot for us this year. But more importantly, she was a great leader. With us playing eight sophomores, we needed that. She did a really good job of being a senior leader."

Despite the fact that the Lady Comets relied on so many underclassmen, Alton still managed to win 14 games and go on a seven-game winning streak late in the year.

That streak took the Lady Comets all the way to the semi-final round of the district tournament, where they were stopped by Licking in a two-point loss.

Not bad for such a young team that was basically learning on the fly at the senior-high level.

"We knew going into the season we were going to be really young. And we struggled a little bit at first," said Benson. "But that bunch got a little older (as the season went on) and started figuring out what it took to win at that level. We came together as a team and started playing better than we were at the beginning."

The rest of the Class 3 District 10 All-Tournament team includes:

Girls' first team

Shelby Ellison -- Licking; Kayla Dooms -- Ava; Kendra Dering -- Ava; Brandi Duncan -- Licking

Girls' second team

Lindsey James -- Willow Springs; Erica Keanney -- Houston; Jamie Reaves -- Cabool; McKenzie Williams -- Mountain Grove; Camerin Heithold -- Licking

Boys' first team

Derek Daniels -- Liberty; Nate Stoutenborough -- Cabool; James Chambers -- Liberty; Kyle Poynter -- Houston; Pete Leonard -- Ava

Boys' second team

Steven Mallow -- Willow Springs; James Sharp -- Liberty; Tyler Williams -- Ava; Ben Dobson -- Mountain Grove; Austin Noll -- Cabool;

Boys' Coach of the Year

Pat Rapert -- Liberty

Girls' Coach of the Year

Gary Gorman -- Licking

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: