[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 54°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Rogers wins

Thursday, April 9, 2009

OREGON COUNTY -- General and Municipal Elections were held in Oregon County April 7. Unofficial results are as follows.

Voters in the city of Thayer elected a new mayor. Mayor Merle Williams did not seek re-election. Buddy Rogers was the winner with 224 votes. Rivals Marge Shipp had 187 votes; Doris Brown had 69 votes; and G. (Gary) Clark received 6 votes.

In the First Ward Alderman race in Thayer, newcomer Robert Freeman defeated incumbent Joe Barbee 133 to 94 votes.

In the Second Ward Alderman race in Thayer, Bob Grimes won over incumbent Al Clark with 156 votes to 94 votes for Clark.

Stoney Cypret defeated incumbent Howard (Ernie) Mainprize for the Thayer Special Road District position receiving 233 votes to Mainprize 196. Daniel Myers had 151 votes.

Thayer also had three propositions on the ballot and all three propositions passed.

Proposition A asked voters to approve revenue bonds for the waterworks and sewage system in the city. It passed 404 votes to 74 votes

Proposition B also passed. It asked voters to approve a sales tax of one-half of one percent for improvements of sewer facilities and the maintenance of sewer improvements. It passed 389 to 85 votes.

Proposition C, the law enforcement tax, asked voters to approve a one-half of one percent tax to make improvements at the police department. The proposal passed 285 to 190 votes.

In the city of Alton there were two aldermen at large positions open. The winners were Jason Smith with 52 votes and Glen Jenkins with 77 votes. Danny Bettis had 4 votes and William Young had 40 votes.

Two school districts in the county, Thayer and Koshkonong, each elected two school board members.

At Thayer, Carrie Tucker and Erman Croney were elected. Tucker received 397 votes and Croney received 333 votes. Betty Morris who was also on the ballot had 214 votes.

In the Koshkonong School District Noval Willbanks and Sheila Miller were the winners. Willbanks received 97 votes and Miller received 80 votes. Others running were: Bud Adams with 46; Morislunn Johnson with 32; Stacie Huffman, 25 votes; Michael Adams, 46 votes; Brandi Sutherland, 72 votes; and Dewayne Phipps, 25 votes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: