[Nameplate] Fair ~ 58°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 47°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Heavy rain creates even more problems for Fulton County roads

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Bay Bridge at Sturkie
Area rain last week kept Fulton County Road Crews busy throughout the weekend repairing washed-out bridges and roads.

With the spring rain creating such damage as seen at right, Governor Mike Beebe has declared Fulton, Arkansas, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Conway, Dallas, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Jefferson, Miller, Monroe, Perry, Phillips, Pope, Poinsett, Prairie, Saline, Searcy, Stone, St. Francis and Union counties state disaster areas due to the damage caused by heavy rains and flooding that began April 27.

The declaration also authorizes $200,000 in individual assistance from the Governor's Disaster Fund for flood victims in Clark, Dallas, Jefferson, Garland, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and Saline counties.

Mount Calm Road and Bridge
The number of declared counties is expected to increase in the coming days as additional reports arrive from counties around the state. The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management will ask FEMA officials for assistance in completing damage assessments to determine whether Arkansas meets the requirements for a federal disaster declaration.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: