[Nameplate] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Wehrli recieves Bronko Nagurski Legends Award

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

The Charlotte Touchdown Club recently announced that Roger Wehrli has been named recipient of the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes the "best of the best" of college defensive football players from the past 40 years.

The award, selected annually by the Football Writers Association of America, will be presented during the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet scheduled for Dec. 7 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, NC.

Wehrli was an All-American at the University of Missouri and is a member of the University of Missouri Hall of Fame.

He was also selected as a member of the All-Senior Bowl's 50th Anniversary Team.

Wehrli was taken in the first round of the NFL draft and played for the St. Louis Cardinals from 1969-1982.

"This is a big thrill for me," Wehrli said. "You look back after being out of football and the limelight and then realize how much fun playing was. The past few years have been great for me with the induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame three years ago and now this. It's a great honor."

"In addition, seeing Ted Hendricks win last year makes winning this year even more special, since he and I came up during the same time and are such good friends," Wehrli said.

The 2009 Legends' award, presented by CSX Intermodal, considers players from the 1969 season.

James R. Hertwig, president of CSX Intermodal, said, "Every year I look forward to being a part of such an inspirational and well-regarded event. On behalf of CSX Intermodal, we are proud to sponsor the annual Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes the talented defensive players that helped shape the course of college football."

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America to the nation's most outstanding NCAA defensive football player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy award finalists will be announced mid November with the award presented on Dec. 7 at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet in Charlotte.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: