[Nameplate] Fair ~ 70°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Sprint car show draws WOW drivers

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

With mild temperatures Aug. 22, race fans were treated to a great program as 100-plus race teams converged for the 17th Annual Dillard Motors sponsored winged sprint car event at West Plains Motor Speedway.

This year the Winged Outlaw Warriors (WOW) brought 15 of their top sprinters and they put on quite a show as they flat-footed it around WPMS.

In the first lap of the first heat, the WOW program got off to a breathtaking start as a collision between turns one and two left one sprint on its top.

The fire and rescue crew, along with the emergency medical crew, responded immediately and eventually uprighted the car and removed the driver who was quickly shuttled off the field without serious injury, but was sidelined for the night.

The remainder of the program proved to be just as exciting as they seemed to actually fly around the red clay oval with Don Droud, Jr., of Lincoln, Neb., emerging as the event winner.

Tyler Blank of California, Mo., took second, followed by series points leader Josh Fisher of Smithton, Mo., Curtis Boyer of New Haven, Mo., Tony Crank of Sedalia, Rusty Potter of Rocheport, Mo., Steven Cross of Appleton City, Mo., Dakota Carroll of Lamonte, Mo., Frank Brown of Marshall, Mo., and Dale McCarty of Eldorado Springs, Mo.

Jacob Black of Van Buren won the Fastrak Late Model feature with Nicholas Black and Jeff McGhee, both of Van Buren, close behind. Jerry Croney of West Plains, finished fourth in his first time out in his new #01 late model and he was followed by John Hill of Jonesboro and Mich Atchison of Eminence.

The IMCA Modified feature always proves to be exciting and this was no exception. Shawn Walsh of Ash Flat is the current points leader and he chalked up another feature win, followed by a strong-running Jason Snodgrass of Mountain Home, Jason Brigman of West Plains, Austin Smith of Mammoth Spring, Gary Stolba of Willow Springs, Kanyan Methvin of Yellville, Brian Judd and Matt Barry, both of West Plains, Tony Carnal of Cabool, and newcomer George Charles of Doniphan.

Seventeen Super Stockers took the green flag and veteran Stan Ellison of West Plains took the checkered first, with Dee Kelly of Birch Tree taking second, followed by Dexter Frost of West Plains, Jeff North of Rogersville, Bobby Bryant, Brandon Ball and Jessie Shearin, all of West Plains, Chris Moser of Melbourne, Bill Dixon of Thayer, Brock Frost of Birch Tree, Will Love of Batesville, Darren Fox of Mountain Grove, Herman Kelly of Birch Tree, Carmon Vincent of Moody, Kevin Collins of West Plains, Jeff Greene of Paragould and Fred Scarbrough of Mammoth Spring.

Kevin Collins of West Plains took another Hobby Stock feature win and he was followed by Chris Davidson of Flippin, Jessie Shearin and Chuck Russell, both of West Plains, Mike Elliott of Ellsinore, Kyle Duke of West Plains, Jeff North of Rogersville, John Stiner, Clyde Shearin, Jr., Chris Piper, Billy Collins and Dexter Frost, all of West Plains, Lonnie Duncan II of Alton, Larry Duke of West Plains, Ted Simpson of Alton, Will Love of Batesville and Scott Todd of Hardy.

Winner of the Cruiser feature this week was young Tyler Newcom of Hardy, followed by Clifford Collins, Mark Doiron, Corey Lambert, Bill Harden, John Zuchowski, Rhonda Gunter, Doug Lambert and Ray Fuselier, all of West Plains, and Tony Shirley of Mountian Grove.

Ten Youth Hobby Stock drivers checked in, so they were allowed to run heats and a feature.

Savannah Sutton of Ash Flat was sidelined in hotlaps, but nine took the green in the feature.

Dakota Frost of West Plains took the win after an extended feature due to driver and mechanical mishaps.

Coming in second was Jared Duke of West Plains, followed by Brandon Walsh of Ash Flat, Skyler Cochran of West Plains, A.J. Smith of Mammoth Spring, Alan Atchison of Eminence, Kaleb Stolba of Willow Springs, Rowdy Collins of West Plains and Lane Elliott of Ellsinore.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: