[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 60°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Energy efficiency makeover winners announced

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Aaron and Jerissa Rogers of Wesley, members of Ozarks Electric Cooperative, are the winners of an energy efficiency makeover for their 1,304-square-foot home. The value of the makeover is up to $50,000.

The couple's home will receive a complete pre- and post-diagnostic energy audit, including a blower door test and infrared thermography. The home will receive energy-saving applications, including sealing the building envelope, cellulose insulation, a Marathon water heater, a high efficiency heating and cooling system and insulated windows and doors.

More than 1,100 applications were submitted from across Arkansas. In addition to the grand prize winner, 16 runner-ups will receive a free 40-gallon high energy efficient Marathon Water Heater. This is the second year that the cooperatives have sponsored the contest.

"This young couple is about to see significant changes in their energy usage and increased comfort level of their home," said Doug White, vice president of systems services for the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. "The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas are dedicated to educating our members about energy efficiency and it will be wonderful to apply the energy-saving practices we promote to the Rogers' home."

White said the cooperatives' goal is to educate all Arkansans that energy efficiency improvement measures are available and many are simple and affordable. The measures incorporated into the makeover project are available at the Web site www.smartenergytips.org.

Winners of free 40-gallon Marathon water heaters are: Scott and Jill Gregory, Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative of Ozark; Doyne Smith, Ashley-Chicot Electric Cooperative of Hamburg; Wesley Green, C & L Electric Cooperative of Star City; Jason Smith, Carroll Electric Cooperative of Berryville; Billy and Gail Langston, Clay County Electric Cooperative of Corning; Helen Hancock, Craighead Electric Cooperative of Jonesboro; Leroy Daniels, Farmers Electric Cooperative of Newport; Chester Brown, First Electric Cooperative of Jacksonville; Paul and Patricia Borden, Mississippi County Electric Cooperative of Blytheville; Kimberly Harris, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Salem; Alicia Hickman, Ouachita Electric Cooperative of Camden; Ernie and Cindy Nowling, Petit Jean Electric Cooperative of Clinton; Marvin and Sue Penny, Rich Mountain Electric Cooperative of Mena; Thomas Purtle, South Central Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Arkadelphia; Sharlotte Mullins, Southwest Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Texarkana; and George Verhoeven, Woodruff Electric Cooperative of Forrest City.

Additional project sponsors included: Belkin; Doug Rye; DropYourEnergyBill.com; Marathon Water Heaters; Rood Heating and Air; Royal Siding; Tommy Gracy Insulation; and Trane.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides various services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 members, or customers, in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact: Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or rroedel@aeci.com

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: