[Nameplate] Fair ~ 63°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 53°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Disaster declared for area counties

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

President Barack Obama has officially declared 37 counties in Arkansas disaster areas, according to Gov. Mike Beebe's office. Word was sent to the governor's office Dec. 3.

The declaration occurred due to damages from excessive flooding in October. This declaration covers Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White and Woodruff.

These counties are eligible for federal government assistance to cover part of state and local costs for damages. They will also be able to apply for hazard mitigation grants to aid in protecting against future natural disasters.

Individual aid is not covered in this declaration.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: