[Nameplate] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 54°F
Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2016

USDA designates 32 counties in Arkansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 32 counties in Arkansas as primary natural disaster areas due to excessive rainfall and extensive flooding that occurred from Sept. 1, 2009, and continuing.

Among the 32 counties are: Baxter, Fulton, Sharp and Stone.

"President Obama and I understand these conditions caused severe damage to the area and serious harm to farms in Arkansas and we want to help," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "This action will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses to a wide variety of crops including corn, forage, cool-season grasses, soybeans, wheat, green beans and tomatoes."

Farmers and ranchers in the following local counties in Arkansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous: Izard. Farm operators in the counties listed below in the adjacent states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma and Tennessee also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Missouri: Howell, Oregon.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Jan. 12, 2010, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

FSA news releases are available on FSA's Web site at http://www.fsa.usda.gov via the "News and Events" link.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave. SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: