[Nameplate] Fair ~ 74°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 73°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Yancey tops in sweeper

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Luther Yancey from Horseshoe Bend won the 9-pin, no-tap handicap sweeper at Indian Hills Bowl March 28, after he defeating Alan Armesteadt of Jonesboro in the final game (263-251with handicap).

A total of 60 bowlers competed for the prize fund of $2,190.

Markie Jackson led the field with a 1,349 total pin count with handicap. A record seven 300 games were rolled during the five-game qualifier. After five games, the field was cut to the top 16 bowlers, who were then seeded into a 16-man, single-game elimination format. The final results were as follows: 1. Luther Yancey, $500; 2. Alan Armesteadt, $300; 3. Markie Jackson, $250; 4. Kevin McCollum, $200; 5. Pat Wilder, $150; 6. Jesse Burch, $125; 7. Keith Anderson, $100; 8. Dan Speir, $75.

Positions nine through 16 each received $55 and in order of qualifying, were: Randy Fitts Sr., Bill Markham, Ryan Bauschlicher, Paul Hennessey, Oscar Najaro, Barret Beyer, Ron Rogers, Patrick Loerzel.

The high, non-cash senior went to Jim Stark for $50.

The next tournament will be scheduled sometime in June.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: