[Nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Election Winners Announced

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Several cities and school districts in Oregon County were involved in the April 6 General Municipal Elections.

The city of Alton elected Richard Haigwood as their mayor by a margin of 57 percent to 46.5 percent over challenger William T. Young.

For their Alderman at Large seats, Tom Young (42.5 percent) and Steven Crigler (30 percent) were elected into office over challenger Dinah Slaughter (27 percent).

Elected as board members to the Alton R-IV School District Board of Education were Keith Combs (43.5 percent) and Mike McElmurry (29.4 percent). Losing in the election were Dennis Smith (14.6 percent) and M. Wayne Howell (12.4 percent).

In Koshkonong, incumbent mayor Tom Lowe remained in office in an uncontested race.

For Alderman at Large, both J.D. Stevens and Paul Roe were placed into office, having split the vote 50-50.

Elected to the Koshkonong R-III School Board of Oregon and Howell Counties were Melody Simpson with 36.2 percent of the vote and Ray Blaylock with 25.3 percent. Challengers Ron McNear, with 15.7 percent and Ronnie Roberts Jr. with 22.3 percent fell short.

In the city of Thayer, for City Alderman -- First Ward, Mike Harber edged out Mary Jane Pounders 58.6 percent to 40.6 percent.

For alderman -- Second Ward slot, R. Steve Alford won over Rosie Simpson, with 52.5 percent of the vote compared to 47 percent for Simpson.

Elected to the Thayer School District No. II Board of Education were Wendy Carhart (35.7 percent) and Jed Underwood (37.3 percent). Challenger Bob Eckman tallied only 26.6 percent of the vote.

Finally, elected to the Winona School District No. R-III Board of Education were Garry Bland (50 percent) and Patrick Miley (50 percent). Challenger Carol Denning received no votes in the race.

All percentages and outcomes were presented by the Oregon County Clerk's office.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: