[Nameplate] Fair ~ 72°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 61°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Circle selected for Governer's Cup

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Local golfer Nathan Circle of Hardy, has been selected to play on the 2010 Arkansas Governor's Cup Team.

Circle is one of the top 10 amateur golfers in the state of Arkansas and this is Circles' third year in a row to be a member of the elite team.

Eighteen Arkansans, 10 amateurs and eight seniors, representing the Arkansas State Golf Association (ASGA) will battle amateurs and senior amateurs representing the Mississippi Golf Association at the 5th annual Governor's Cup Matches at Old Waverly Golf Club in West Point, Miss.

The Governor's Cup developed from the spirit and camaraderie of the Mid-South Cup Matches, where golfers from Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas competed each year in a Ryder Cup style format from 1977-2005.

Mississippi hosted and won the inaugural Governor's Cup at Reunion Golf Club in Madison, Miss.

Circle has played on Arkansas's past three winning matches at Texarkana Country Club, Beau Pre' Golf Club in Natchez, Miss., and Chenal Country Club in Little Rock.

The 10 amateurs representing the ASGA include: Wes McNulty, Pine Bluff; Neal Westbrook, Russellville; Ron Mangold, Pocahontas; Tracy Harris, Little Rock; Nathan Circle, Hardy; Chris Jenkins, Little Rock; John Bragg, Bryant; Trey Schaap, North Little Rock; Justin Burns, Wiseman and Brian Allbright, Hot Springs Village.

Four of the eight senior Arkansans have been confirmed: Stan Lee, Heber Springs, 2009 ASGA Senior Player of the Year; Oscar Taylor, Hot Springs Village; Roger Clement, Little Rock and Bruce Dickey, Paragould. The remaining four senior team members will be announced soon.

The amateurs will be without their reigning player of the year, Nicklaus Benton of Cabot, as Governor's Cup rules prohibit college players from participating.

The format and schedule of play: May 20: practice round and team dinner; May 21: 4-Ball matches in morning, foursome (alternate shot) matches in afternoon; May 22: individual matches in morning followed by trophy presentation.

"This is a great event -- which is competitive -- but also has a social atmosphere," Jay Fox, ASGA Executive Director said. "Both teams want to win, but the camaraderie outweighs the competition."

Old Waverly Golf Club hosted the 1999 U.S. Women's Open, won by Juli Inkster. For more information on the rich heritage of Old Waverly, go to www.oldwaverly.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: