[Nameplate] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Show-Me Modifieds hot at WPMS

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

The racing surface at the West Plains Speedway was ready for hot laps July 31 at 6:30 p.m., but Mother Nature saw it differently.

A flash shower blew through and racing was delayed until 10 p.m. on the final night of the 18th annual Show-Me Modified Championship.

The first order of business was to get eight more outlaw modifieds qualified, and 21 cars took a shot at it. The last chance qualifiers were; winner Josh Hughes of West Plains, Mike Bowers of North Little Rock, Robby Arnold of Paragould, Jeff Taylor of Jonesboro, T. J. Herndon of Atwood, Tenn., Patrick Linn of Little Rock, Carl Murphy of Caulfield and Peyton Taylor of Desha.

With the line up for the 40-lap event in place, the show went on.

The late model race belonged to Brosely, Mo., as Mason Oberkramer and Robby Moore took the top two spots.

The balance of the field included: Tim Winchester of Gideon, Jerry Buck of Paragould, along with Nick Black, Robert Williams, and Jeff McGhee all of Van Buren.

A total of 12 made the show and the modified crowd loved the late models.

The other support class of the evening was the Super Stock class and nine-time champion Stan Ellison of West Plains took top honors in front of Carmon Vincent of Moody.

The field was closed in, and the top five included Kevin Collins of West Plains, Dee Kelly of Birch Tree, and Jason Pennington of Qulin, Mo.

The stage was set and 24 Outlaw and IMCA mixed Modifieds took to the very fast West Plains 3/8 mile clay oval.

The late hour didn't dampen the fans enthusiasm.

Thursday's winner and pole setter was Terry Phillips of Springfield and it was amazing he could get in his car after two days of golf with speedway announcer Larry Calton.

The outside spot belonged to Rustin Miller of Houston.

As many predicted, Phillips took off and looked like he was going to be hard to catch. But before the half-way point, Miller started to close the gap and it got interesting from that point.

Saturday night's qualifier winner, Josh Hughes, looked like a strong contender, but on lap 22, Hughes pulled off with mechanical failures, and by lap 29, Jason Hughes met the same fate.

On lap 33, the final five was set and Phillips took the $5,000 top purse. The worst anyone did was $500.

Phillips was followed by Rustin Miller, Johnny Bone Jr. of Pea Ridge, Mike Bowers of North Little Rock, Robby Arnold of Paragould, Richie Tosh of Salado, Jeff Taylor of Jonesboro, Wayne Brooks of Bald Knob, Paul Reeder of Malden and Scott Crigler of Alton.

The balance of the field in order included; Robert Baker of Benton, Ashley Newman of Ripley, Tenn., Gary Stolba of Willow Springs, Brad Buck of Paragould, Patrick Linn of Little Rock, TJ Herndon of Atwood, Tenn., Carl Murphy of Caulfield, Hunter Rasdon of Jonesboro, Jason Hughes of West Plains, Randy Timms of Oklahoma City, Josh Hughes of West Plains, Peyton Taylor of Desha, Kyle Duke of West Plains, and Tyson Franks of Batesville. Seven IMCA cars were in the feature and three were in the top ten.

Next action at West Plains will be August 7 with all classes running and Kamakzi Cars.

For more information got to ww.westplains-speedway.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: