[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Hot Pink Tourney set to tee

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Sharp County Judge Larry Brown and the Cherokee Village Women's 18-Hole Golf Association proudly proclaim October, Breast Cancer Awareness month and are naming Oct. 1 as "Go Pink for the Cure" day in support of breast cancer awareness and the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

Brown recently signed a proclamation to make this event official.

The Women's Golf Association is asking those in the community to wear pink on Oct. 1 in support of breast cancer awareness.

According to the proclamation, 1,770 women will be newly-diagnosed with breast cancer and 430 will die of the disease in Arkansas this year alone.

Northeast Arkansas communities have received more than $1.5 million in grants, education and screening and treatment since the first Race for the Cure in Arkansas in 1996.

A woman's best chance for survival is early detection through regular, screening mammograms and clinical breast exams. One out of every eight women in America is at risk of getting breast cancer in her lifetime, according to the American Cancer Society.

The Cherokee Village Women's 18-Hole Golf Association started the "Hot Pink" golf tournament and for the past three years has donated proceeds of more than $21,000 to the Arkansas Affiliate of Susan G. Komen.

The "Hot Pink" tournament is held in October each year and alternates between the Cherokee Village Golf Course and The Course at Eagle Mountain in Batesville, sharing the responsibilities of the tournament with the Ladies of Eagle Mountain.

The fourth annual tournament will be played at The Course at Eagle Mountain on Oct. 20.

The format will be a two-gal scramble beginning at 9 a.m.

For more tournament information, call the Cherokee Village Pro Shop at 870-257-2555 or Jan Haney at 257-2600.

For more information on breast cancer, go pink for the cure and the race, go to www.komenarkansas.org.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: